The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Morrison Fabrications
Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic

2g Head Build - Where do I start & what do to.

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GofaST4life

15+ Year Contributor
Oct 21, 2007
Medina 44256, Ohio
Whats up guys.

I recently picked up a complete, partially torn down 2g head for an absolute steal of a price.

My idea was to do a stock and or mild build in my spare time. I have never worked on something like this before, so im very excited to get my hands dirty in some actual engine/head building.

Some of my initial questions:
1. Before I even start to work on it, is there anything I should do/check/measure?
2. Is there a specific cleaner I should use to do an initial clean of the head? Or would a strong degreaser like Simple Green or Purple Power be okay?
3. Keeping the stock and/or mild build idea, what stock parts should I reuse, what parts should I look at upgrading?
4. Is there a "Write Up" or suggested build path for something like this?

Please keep in mind, I don't want to go big/expensive and I would like to do all the work myself.

What suggestions do you guys have.

Some of my initial questions:
1. Before I even start to work on it, is there anything I should do/check/measure?

There is really nothing you can do here. You need to take it to a machine shop to get it checked and machined if needed for straightness of the bottom of the head and pressure check it for leaking valves.

2. Is there a specific cleaner I should use to do an initial clean of the head? Or would a strong degreaser like Simple Green or Purple Power be okay?

The machine shop will clean the head for you while machining it.