The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Kiggly Racing
Please Support STM Tuned

ECMlink Using DSMLink to tune for knock on a 2g

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zippyshoe

15+ Year Contributor
Aug 10, 2005
New Holland, Pennsylvania
I'm a newbie to tuning with DSMLink, and have just finished tuning my global fuel and deadtime values for my upgraded injectors. So now I am starting to tune for WOT operation. One of the parameters that I'm logging is Knock/KnockRetard. I was wondering if there is an "acceptable" level of knock permitted when tuning at WOT? Ideally, there should be no knock whatsoever, but on my first WOT run, I logged a maximum of 0.7 degrees of knock (equivalent to a KnockRetard value of 2) in the upper RPM range at a boost level of 15psi. I plan on doing another WOT run at 13psi (the lowest boost pressure I can achieve) and checking for any knock detected. But I was wondering if 0.7 degrees of knock would be considered "acceptable"? Thanks for any input.

As long as my CE light does not flash showing there isnt high counts of knock, I don't worry too much. Check the setting where you can see/adjust how many knock counts before the CE light flahses. But if it stays lit I definitely back off the pedal. Might want to consult the dsmlink forums for answers from the veterans.

But it is good that you are being very careful and safe, something a lot of DSM owners don't do resulting in the unreliablity and perhaps the end of their vehicle.

I tune for less than 1 degree of knock, so yes I would be happy with that .7 degrees. There is no sense in allowing more knock as it just pulls timing anyway.