The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Kiggly Racing
Please Support ExtremePSI

Talon Resurrection

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EZSpeed

Probationary Member
Aug 28, 2011
Waukegan, Illinois
I'm new to DSMs, I come from the LS1 part of the car world but have been more interested in cars in general lately. I was going away to school, but recently decided that I didn't want to be a high school teacher anymore because my interest in cars has progressed beyond obsession. I'm now going to community college to get an associate's degree in automotive technology. My parents were really cool about me moving back in, and my dad even said I could get a beater car for the Chicago winter because he likes my Camaro more than I do(almost...)

Anyways, after looking on craigslist for a few weeks, I finally found the perfect car: a 1990 Eagle Talon Tsi AWD with 108,xxx miles. The guy said he was selling it because he ran out of time for it, but it seems like he was just sick of it. He said it needed a new idle air control motor to run right, but when I went to check it out with my dad he couldn't get it to start at all. Luckily this dropped the price, because he just wanted it out of his driveway. My dad has a warehouse for his business so we had it towed there.
1990eagletalonproject002.jpg

1990eagletalonproject003.jpg

Let's start with the bad first. This car is in pretty good condition for being 21 years old, but it's got some nasties. There's a few dents
1990eagletalonproject009.jpg

1990eagletalonproject011.jpg

along with plain neglect

1990eagletalonproject005.jpg

yeah that's oil pooled on the valve cover :nono:

and a driver's door that doesn't close
1990eagletalonproject006.jpg