The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic
Please Support STM Tuned

1990 Mitsubishi Talon resurrection

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Infamous33

10+ Year Contributor
May 30, 2011
Chicopee, Massachusetts
After letting this car sit for almost 6 years, I have decided to rebuild it and make some mild/moderate upgrades. I wanted to share this rebuild with everyone and will try to post updates/ improvements as I go.
Let me start with a little background. I have been an auto tech. for over 19 years now and have worked on everything you can think of. About 4 years ago I decided that I would never be happy working for someone else, so I started my own business.
As for my DSM background.. I bought my first one back in '94. A 1990 Eclipse GSX, a sweet car that was bone stock and only had 85k on it. I drove the crap out of it, blowing the trans. twice. The second time it happened was racing a Honda. When I shifted to 3rd and let the clutch out to pass him, all hell broke lose and I laid down a 4 wheel skid mark that went for about 60 feet. After having the car towed to the shop I worked at, I pulled the trans and found out I broke the 1-2 shift fork, upon shifting to third, I effectively put the trans in 2nd and 3rd at the same time. This didn't really work out well for my race or the tranny, as it blew the side cover open when 5th gear came apart as well as breaking the counter shaft clean in half.