The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support JNZ Tuning
Please Support Rix Racing

Manual Shift Box for Automatics

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Status
Not open for further replies.

EagleTalonTim

15+ Year Contributor
Jan 10, 2007
Brighton, Tennessee
Hey everyone! I just show my new, homemade manual shift box for my auto. I have been driving with it for over 4 months now with no problems at all and I love it! I know there used to be someone on here that built them and no one knows what happened to him, so I decided to make my own.

Advantages :
You have control when your automatic shifts with the push of a button. (There is one button per gear. Total of 4 buttons).
Faster track times because of faster shifts.
No worries about limp mode. The box controls the shifting.
15 to 30 minute installation.
The gear selector still works as normal from Park, Reverse, and Neutral. The box takes over Drive and the lower gears.

Disadvantages :
Hard shifts. Trust me, they are not gentle at all unless you learn the shift points.
As far as I know, if the TCU is not reading the correct ohms from the Shift Control Solenoids, it will go into limp mode until you reset it. I have a switch on my box that switches back to using the TCU for normal shifting, but my TCU was stuck in limp mode before I bought the car so I drive everywhere using just the box.

If you want to see what it looks like, I posted a pic of my prototype farther down this page. I will post more info as I find new things that I can add to the box. So far I have been able to add LED gear display and a fail safe feature that prevents me from damaging my transmission by accidentally shifting out of sequence.