The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic
Please Support STM Tuned

blown headgasket?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KeelesKustome

15+ Year Contributor
Dec 29, 2007
Waverly, Tennessee
Okay I'm somewhat at a loss.
My car has randomly started smoking white smoke, sometimes worse than others, but for the most part, it only happens when under full acceleration. I cannot tell if the smell is sweet or burnt, I am a proffessional painter for a living, and it's tainted some of my smelling abilities.
Somtimes it'll smoke while idleing, but for the most part while idleing, if you put a white piece of paper up to the muffler, it will splatter wet black drops all over the paper, and in 30 seconds time, it's covered fairly well. I smeared the splatters and they were not oily at all. This is not condensation, as it does it all the time.

It never overheats,

My coolant is not missing at all. and is still bright green.

My oil has some leaks at the oilpan, but does not require any adding for 3,000 plus miles.

The oil is also nice and brown or even black, depending on the age.

I removed the coolant line from my mhi housing 20g turbo and just recirculated them both to themselves, to see if maybe my turbo had a bad seal, it changed nothing.

The last thing i need to check tomorrow is my compression across the board.
What compression ratios should i expect from a healthy baby, with my setup?

1g big rods, 2g pistons 1g head, unsure of height, but it has a cometic head gasket and arp studs

ok this explains my black suit, considering i have no emissions, or cat on my car with a full 3" exhaust, front to back.