The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support ExtremePSI

Switching to Manual Steering Rack help?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1gDSM4g63

15+ Year Contributor
Aug 28, 2007
San Jose, California
I've been driving without power steering for a couple of years I'm fine will the hard turns at a stop or in a parking lot, but will switching to a manual steering rack make a significance difference? The guy on DSMTrader said it's a lot easier and has a better turning radius.

Depending on how your power steering is disabled will determine the difference felt.
If you are running a power rack with it still hooked up to the pump just without the belt, the manual rack should be easier to turn.
If you are running a power rack with the lines looped and no pump at all, the manual rack will be a little easier to turn.
If you are running a power rack that has been taken apart and properly de-powered, there will probably be little difference.
The turning radius shouldn't change, although lock to lock will be different; the manual is more turns. However, some argue that this adds more resolution at higher speeds.

I don't exactly what I did a couple years ago. All I can tell is that the belt is off and the pump gone. I probably went the whole way not looping the lines.

There is probably no reason to get a manual rack now. If the power steering is off then the power steering is off. I don't see how switching to a manual rack can make the physical force any easier. I'll find better use of the money on other things.