The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support Morrison Fabrication

Head Installation

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Derail20T

Proven Member
Apr 21, 2013
Sarnia, ON_Canada
Hey guys, I am planning on having my rebuilt head and cams installed on my car over the winter. Does anyone know any good shops or freelancers in Michigan that would do this for a reasonable price? I've gotten 1 quote so far for $648, does this sound like a good price? I've thought of tackling the job myself, but I've never done one before and it could be worth getting a shop to do it if it's cheap enough... Any suggestions are appreciated!

That seems a bit but for 70 a hour alone, I did mine I took my time and it wasn't bad at all just take your time. I wouldn't pay that but that's me.

Price should not be the main focus point on having a head built and installed.

$648 is way cheap, if that includes the the parts and labor to have the head R&R, and the price of the head rebuild

Rebuilding the head is a pretty easy job. I'd say tackle it yourself, there are plenty of writeups on doing it. And you can save that $600 and get some other parts aswell.

If you are set on having a shop do it contact Strictly Import Motorsports, they're right in Michigan, they have some of the best pricings, and do great work.

I spoke with Jackson Auto a little while back and they claimed that SIM doesnt actually do their own machining. They have a machine shop do it for them. Any truth to this? As for me, im gonna talk to Bogus when the time comes...