The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Morrison Fabrications
Please Support STM Tuned

Do I need to change my second gear syncro

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

paulb1320

10+ Year Contributor
Jun 9, 2011
Calgary, AB_Canada
Here is my problem with my car, it grinds and is very difficult to get into second gear, double clutching and rev matching helped but often times it still would not go into gear so I opted to skip second gear entirely until I had a chance to pull my tranny apart. (note I am a college student so this is just a fix what is needed scenario I cannot afford a full rebuild)

I pulled my trans apart and found a broken 1-2 Shift fork and a syncro that is only slightly worn.

Was the broken shift fork the cause of all my problems? or was it also a bad syncro? I have a new shift fork however I seem to have purchased a double syncro when I need just the gear.

Can I get away with just replacing the shift fork? I am on a very tight budget and schedule and cannot wait for a new syncro to arrive (local mitsu dealer says about 2-3 weeks)

Thanks in advance.

Thats actually what I have now. I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong but I can't figure out how it fits in. I had a few of my mechanic friends take a look at it and they said it was the wrong part and that it wouldn't fit.
I am almost positive I need the single syncro ring on this same website. ( it looks identical to the original part)

So the fork was completely broken? IF it was actually broken than the transmission wouldn't shift into 1st or second gear. I would just replace what is damaged. As stated, contact jacks transmission for any parts that you need.