The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Morrison Fabrications
Please Support STM Tuned

Car got stuck in 5th gear, can't yank out...

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WillRaceForBeer

20+ Year Contributor
Feb 7, 2003
Fairfax, Virginia
I'm new to manual dsm's, and today my 1990 GSX got stuck in 5th gear on the highway. I was coming down an exit ramp and simply couldn't shift out of the gear :cry: Pulled over, killed the car, attempted to yank it out... no luck, and I yanked hard. It's in a limbo between 5th and neutral now. I can keep the shifter pulled back and there is no engagement, but with it pushed forward (towards 5th) it grinds... I can't move to any other gears, including Reverse, like i said I tried to yank it back.

I've spoke with several knowledgeable people and done some research but saw that no-one had got stuck in 5th before. Typically if it were 1,2,3,4 broken shiftforks are a good posibility, so should I assume the same for 5th? And are there other things I should check that could be locking it in this position?

As far as I could tell the tranny is in good shape with the only issue being a bad 1st syncro (used to grind going into 1st before some adjustment of the clutch)

I've got the car back home now, so let me know what you guys think I should do next.. :dsm:

That sounds like a possibility but if i recall correctly when i broke my 3rd gear shift fork i was still able to move the shifter to any gear it was just stuck in 3rd no matter what.

Sounds like a broken shift fork to me. My friend broke one of his and he couldn't get it to budge at all.

Well I drained her and pulled the cover off. Here's how things look: