1. Join the Community!

    DSMtuners is a massive archive of DSM information - but more importantly, it's a COMMUNITY! Join in and participate with other DSMers, and invite all of your DSM friends to make this place their home. Chat with others, create a build thread, post questions and answers. Get involved! Logging in will also remove many of the advertisements, along with this notice. ;)

palmnstein

Posted by u6t9, Mar 18, 2004

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support STM Tuned
  1. u6t9

    u6t9 Proven Member

    275
    1
    Joined Jan 19, 2004
    Kearney, Nebraska
    i just got all my logging stuff ready but it doesn't work.

    this is what i've got:
    -multiplex Engineering interface.
    -sony clie t415 with sync cable.
    -palmnstein sofware

    i can use the software great in test mode but when i hook it up to my car and i try to start a log it gives me an error message that says "no rev" and then at the top it says connection failed.

    what gives? thanks for any help! :thumb:
     
  2. u6t9

    u6t9 Proven Member

    275
    1
    Joined Jan 19, 2004
    Kearney, Nebraska
    so am i just a jackass or what? i tried again and again, still cant get it to work. it wont read the DTC's either. whenever i try to do a log it gives an error: no rev. what the hell? my car is running!!! has anybody else had this problem? please i need some help.

    thanks guys
     
  3. CR95GST

    CR95GST Proven Member

    55
    0
    Joined Feb 26, 2003
    Daytona Beach, Florida
    No rev means it didn't make a connection. Not assuming anything about you, but did you get the right connector from Multiplex? Also, be sure the hotsync cable is SNUG in the PDA...even if it is slightly loose, it can cause an issue.
     
  4. u6t9

    u6t9 Proven Member

    275
    1
    Joined Jan 19, 2004
    Kearney, Nebraska
    yeah, they made sure to ask what software i was using and i told them Hal Landry's software (tunerstein and palmmstein) so i know that the interface is right. thanks! :thumb:
     
  5. J-speed99

    J-speed99 Proven Member

    94
    0
    Joined Feb 28, 2003
    fort wayne, Indiana
    I have the same problem with my sony clie T615 I think most clies don't work for datalogging.
     
  6. u6t9

    u6t9 Proven Member

    275
    1
    Joined Jan 19, 2004
    Kearney, Nebraska
    well that sucks! have you ever gotten it to work? i really need to do some logging and find out what's going on in there before i blow something up.
     
  7. J-speed99

    J-speed99 Proven Member

    94
    0
    Joined Feb 28, 2003
    fort wayne, Indiana
    It has never worked on my 1g and I didn't even try it on my 2g.
     
  8. 97GST6bolt

    97GST6bolt Proven Member

    60
    0
    Joined Mar 19, 2004
    D'Town, Texas
    I don't think it works with sony clie's. I've read about it and it has something to do with the connection it makes. Leave it to good ol' "proprietary" sony to do it again... like their memory sticks... firewire camcorders.. and everything else in the multimedia world.
     
  9. u6t9

    u6t9 Proven Member

    275
    1
    Joined Jan 19, 2004
    Kearney, Nebraska
    well, that blows. good thing i only bought one for $40 bucks instead of $200. anybody recomend a good Palm for pretty cheap?

    thanks. :thumb:
     
  10. CR95GST

    CR95GST Proven Member

    55
    0
    Joined Feb 26, 2003
    Daytona Beach, Florida
    Palm IIIxe or IIIc. I have the IIIxe and I can't complain. Plus it comes in handy for a lot of other little things such as a "Vehicle Log" program that keeps track of gas mileage, oil changes, and all other maintenance and car expenses. I am currently running the palmnstein program on it without an issue.
     
  11. Tallen

    Tallen Proven Member

    2,236
    5
    Joined May 28, 2002
    Ashburn, Virginia
    Take it you like the logger Chris :)
    Clie's shouldnt work (maybe there is some type of emulator you can use to make the clie think its running palm OS 3.5). Only palms work to my knowlegde. You must have a Palm OS of 3.5-5.0.

    Make sure all of your settings are correct on the screen, the car is on, and your connections are tight; but I am prettty sure Clie's wont work.
    http://students.db.erau.edu/~szabafab/stein/
    I backed up Hal's site because he took it down.
     
  12. RED&BlackGSX

    RED&BlackGSX Proven Member

    53
    0
    Joined Mar 24, 2004
    oklahoma city, Oklahoma
    sounds like a bad cable,..i have built the cables b4, and if connector 2&4 are reversed,it will not connect and give that error...the cable is built for a PC,but the same cable can be used for a palm if they are switched
     
  13. CR95GST

    CR95GST Proven Member

    55
    0
    Joined Feb 26, 2003
    Daytona Beach, Florida
    No, the software just doesn't work on Sony Clie's for some reason.
     
  14. RED&BlackGSX

    RED&BlackGSX Proven Member

    53
    0
    Joined Mar 24, 2004
    oklahoma city, Oklahoma
    Ok....I got my palm m105 on ebay for $60 bucks new, a yr ago.prolly cheaper now
     
  15. u6t9

    u6t9 Proven Member

    275
    1
    Joined Jan 19, 2004
    Kearney, Nebraska
    i noticed you have a 1G, the cables you are probobly talking about are for 1G cars i'm assuming. my talon is a 95 therefore OBDII wich is an entirely diferent cable.

    and Tallen my clie runs palm 4.1. do only the ones that run 3.5 or 5.0 work or do you mean everything inbetween?

    anyways, i just ordered a palm Vx today off of eBay so as soon as that gets here i'll let you know what happens....i'm kinda pissed i bought the clie for nothing.

    thanks for your help guys! :thumb:
     
  16. 97GST6bolt

    97GST6bolt Proven Member

    60
    0
    Joined Mar 19, 2004
    D'Town, Texas
    Sony Clie's won't work regardless of the Palm OS Version. However, if you do have a "Palm Pilot" (not Clie) it can be any OS version from Palm/III on up.
     
  17. robw22

    robw22 Proven Member

    37
    0
    Joined Oct 16, 2003
    ,
    No offence but, palm'n'stein sucks. Try MMCD. It's also a shareware program and it works much better. I tried palm'n'crap for about a week before I got frustrated and used MMCD. It's much easier to use. If you got your cable from Ebay, it may have come with it. Check your CD.
     
  18. u6t9

    u6t9 Proven Member

    275
    1
    Joined Jan 19, 2004
    Kearney, Nebraska
    i thought MMCD was only compatible with 1G's. i've got a 2G with OBDII. you can use palmnstein for 1G or 2G as long as you have the right cable but you can only use MMCD on 1G's....
    somebody correct me if i'm wrong, but that's what i've gathered so far.

    but i guess i could always try MMCD, even if it doesn't work, trying wont hurt anything.

    thanks guys! :thumb:


    P.S. "VTEC THIS" ...that is funny as hell!!!!
     
  19. RED&BlackGSX

    RED&BlackGSX Proven Member

    53
    0
    Joined Mar 24, 2004
    oklahoma city, Oklahoma
    it does suck...im tired of using it...im to cheap to buy anything else...does anybody in here have MMCD they can send me..
     
  20. talontsi01

    talontsi01 Proven Member

    565
    1
    Joined Oct 6, 2002
    Detroit, Michigan

    343  0

    1997 Mitsubishi Eclipse Spyder GST
    manual · 2G DSM
    Loading...
  21. talontsi01

    talontsi01 Proven Member

    565
    1
    Joined Oct 6, 2002
    Detroit, Michigan
    What do you mean by this?
    I bought a cable a while back to use with my pc. I bought a palm about a week ago and can't figure out why its not working.
    I guess what I'm asking is, is there a difference between the logger cables used for labtops opposed to the cables used for palms?
     

    343  0

    1997 Mitsubishi Eclipse Spyder GST
    manual · 2G DSM
    Loading...

Share This Page

Support Vendors who Support the DSM Community
Archer Fabrication ECM Tuning ExtremePSI Feal Suspension Fuel Injector Clinic Jacks Transmissions JNZ Tuning Kiggly Racing Morrison Fabrications OHM Racing RixRacing RockAuto SouthBay Fuel Injectors STM Tuned Track Decals Track Sculptures VR Speed Factory