The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Rix Racing
Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic

fixed boost leak not making as much boost???

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1991DSMTSIAWD

Probationary Member
Aug 30, 2013
Hohenwald, Tennessee
I'm new to dsm and turbo cars. can some one help me out and tell me if its normal that i fixed a boost leak of my mbc and now went form 20psi to 15? i have a 16g evo III turbo, we put a different boost controller on it and tried to reset it but i was just loosing boost when we turned the boost controller up??? its a turboxs mbc. we couldnt find anymore boost leaks. so i am lost. thank you for you'r help it is very appreciated.

Post a pic of your "turboxs" boost controller. Putting money on it being the junk ebay knock-off.

I'm not for sure. My brother was doing the test I heard the air coming out and picked up my boost controller and their was a hole in it. We sealed it and I got on it now only making 15 psi.. and I don't have it now. It was on my brothers car we pulled it off to see if my MBC was bad.

You sure the hole wasn't the bleed off? Was it leaking from a hole in the vacuum line or a hole in the MBC itself, and was it a hole that looked like it rotted out or was it a machined hole? Some MBC have a bleed off hole in them.

it looked machined. and i covered the hole and you couldnt hear the air coming out. is it suppose to be leaking air like that?

So you can't do another blt? Because it sounds like you need to! I suggest making one bro and always keep it handy. I do a blt at every oil change with all my turbo cars! I know its alittle over kill, but you never know when a parts going to decide to go!