The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Morrison Fabrications
Please Support ExtremePSI

2G Eclipse GS not so good idea after all?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

demiantorp

Probationary Member
Jul 6, 2021
Jalisco, Central_America
Hello! I'm completely new to the DSM scene but have always wanted to get a car to start modding and make it a daily drive. I just got the money to get one and start with all the process but...
I was about to get an Eclipse 2G 1995 GS so, as every newbie should do i was researching and reading the forum. And came across with a lot of things about the different motors. The one that I was thinking of buying is a 420a instead of the 4g63 and it doesn't have AWD, thing is that I want it to be a daily drive and use it occasionally on drifting and casual races so again, reading and researching about motors the 4g63 is an overall better motor than the 420a BUT I live in Mexico where all the 420s came from so finding parts shouldn't be that difficult. I'm not so sure abt putting a turbo on the 420 because it's such a hassle but I don't know if it's worth if I only use it for casual stuff and the main reason why I want it it's to drive it "normally".
So basically the question that I have is: Is it worth buying the Eclipse even thou it has the 420a if it's just for ocasional and casual drifting/racing with little modding as side dish on the long run or do I pass on that and keep searching for a 4g63?

Save the headache, be patient...and find a GST/GSX.

The real question is *why* do you want an Eclipse? Looks? History? To be different? To be fast?