The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support Morrison Fabrication

EXPERIENCED ENGINE BUILDERS : Come in!

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blcknspo0ln

DSM Wiseman
Jul 31, 2003
Central, New_Jersey
Ok, so where do I begin? Some call me a wiseman, but I'm an extreme novice when it comes to engine building. Sure I can assemble a full motor without even breaking a sweat, but the rotating assembly is a whole 'nother ball game. I need experienced engine builders to help guide me through the process and if you could, help me form an official 'build a shortblock' tech article that me & dsmtuners needs! I'll be sure to ask a lot of questions and I hope you guys can offer some brutal truth + advice to me. Where do I start?

I spun rod bearing #1 and trashed my entire cyl walls + crank to go with it due to low oil pressure.

You must be logged in to view this image or video.

plenty of metal shavings:

as it sits:

I just picked up a virgin crank, so that is good to go. I also know I need to rehone the cylinder walls and along with that, get new piston rings for the set.

I am researching and soon will decide on a machine shop to go to, but for now, what do I need to ask the machine shop to do for me assuming that I want to assemble the short block myself?

1. Hot tank
2. Check surface for flatness, deck if necessary (shouldn't, just got machined 2k miles ago!)
3. Check/polish crank
4. Rods? Recondition rod #1; what else can they do to check the rods for usability? Check for roundness?
4. Pistons? How are the piston skirts fixed ?