vacuum delete

Posted by 90rslaser, Dec 16, 2009
Newbie Forum - Beginner DSM modification questions and discussions. Common, repetitive, and general discussions will get dumped here from other tech forums. Unless you're a Probationary member you shouldn't post threads here.

  1. 90rslaser

    90rslaser Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Posts:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheyenne, Wyoming
    so, this is my first time trying a vacuum delete, and its for my 90 tsi talon that is sort of torn apart right meow(getting new top end), and i was bored so i decideds to do the vacuum line delete everyone else does. well, everytime diagram i find on it, shows the throttle body having four ports on the top of it. but MINE only has 2. so do i just cap them both off? or do i use one for something? i will show you guys the diagram i used, and my throttle body
    Taboo speed shop vacuum diagram and removal for 1g and 2g - Mitsu-Media thats a link to the diagrams i used.

    and heres my throttle body [​IMG]

    also, how do i "delete" the charcoal canister system? just rip the whole piece of sh** out, and call it good? or is there certain things i need to do? i know it sounds kinda silly, but theres no emissions where i live except for the one about catalytic converters LOL. go figure. thanks guys.
    #1
  2. SBR Joe

    SBR Joe Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    3
    Butler/Indiana, Pennsylvania
    Just use vacuum caps for all the ports on the TB. There is one labeled "P" i believe that you can run a boost gauge vac line from to not have to tee into the FPR line. Other than that rip em all out. Leave one from mani to FPR, and mani to BOV.

    Charcoal canister shot put into the trash. There is one hard line that runs up to it with a rubber line to the canister, this is the gas tank vent. Just get a piece of vac line about a foot long and route it behind the crossmember just so you dont get the occasional whiff of gas from the vent line.
    #2
  3. Rob10_99

    Rob10_99 Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ptown, Arizona
    Yep, just cap those off at the top, also are you doing FIAV delete?
    The canister just yank out and route the hose from the gas tank under the car or pointed down, you might smell some gas out of it.

    ^ yeah what he said
    #3
  4. SBR Joe

    SBR Joe Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    3
    Butler/Indiana, Pennsylvania
    Im not sure if he can on the 90 TB...that was one gripe i always had with my 90 cars LOL
    #4
  5. snowborder714

    snowborder714 Moderator

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Posts:
    11,736
    Likes Received:
    86
    Downingtown, Pennsylvania
    I believe you can, but you have to grind/cut off the bottom portion. This is why most people swap to a '91-'94 throttle body.

    I know Jim (Auto RS T) did this with his '91-'94 and I thought he had a picture floating around somewhere. I'll see if I can track it down or have him post it.
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2009
    #5
  6. SBR Joe

    SBR Joe Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    3
    Butler/Indiana, Pennsylvania
    Yeah i know you have to "rig" things, for lack of better terms.

    I always just wired in the plug for a 91-94 TPS and ran one of them minus the FIAV/IAC parts.
    #6
  7. snowborder714

    snowborder714 Moderator

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Posts:
    11,736
    Likes Received:
    86
    Downingtown, Pennsylvania
    Here's what Jim did to one of his throttle bodies.

    DSCN4027.JPG
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 10, 2014
    #7
  8. 90rslaser

    90rslaser Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Posts:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheyenne, Wyoming
    sweet i really appreciate the replies guys. a lot more help then the d-bags on talk gave me. but, i gotta keep the two ports on the side of the tb correct? ### theyre for coolant lines or some sh**?
    #8
  9. snowborder714

    snowborder714 Moderator

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Posts:
    11,736
    Likes Received:
    86
    Downingtown, Pennsylvania
    The two skinny ports off the side of the throttle plate are for vacuum. The two larger ports off the bottom section of the throttle body are for coolant.
    #9
  10. SBR Joe

    SBR Joe Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    3
    Butler/Indiana, Pennsylvania
    Yeah thats a 91-94 TB, he just retained his IAC. Pretty slick.
    #10
  11. snowborder714

    snowborder714 Moderator

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Posts:
    11,736
    Likes Received:
    86
    Downingtown, Pennsylvania
    Ya, I thought he had a '90 - my bad.
    #11
  12. SBR Joe

    SBR Joe Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    3
    Butler/Indiana, Pennsylvania
    No biggie. Shows the true heart of a DSMer because he could have just bought this and made his life alot easier! haha DSM FIAV Bypass Plate
    #12
  13. 9!'clipseDOHC

    9!'clipseDOHC Moderator

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Posts:
    3,447
    Likes Received:
    114
    El Paso, Texas
    The 2 large ones on the bottom are the coolant lines and they run into the FIAV that everyone is talking about.

    About the FIAV, mine is bypassed and I just have the coolant lines looped in together. With the blockoff plate can I completely remove the FIAV and ISC or will they still be there just blocked off? In other words does the plate go in between the TB and the FIAV or replace the FIAV.
    #13
  14. snowborder714

    snowborder714 Moderator

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Posts:
    11,736
    Likes Received:
    86
    Downingtown, Pennsylvania
    An FIAV bypass plate goes inbetween the FIAV portion and the throttle body portion. You can leave the coolant nipples on the FIAV open with this, as nothing will come out. This will allow you to retain the ISC.

    An FIAV blockoff plate goes on the bottom of the throttle body portion. You can bolt up the FIAV portion, but it's not needed as the blockoff plate is solid and, well, blocks everything off.
    #14
  15. 9!'clipseDOHC

    9!'clipseDOHC Moderator

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Posts:
    3,447
    Likes Received:
    114
    El Paso, Texas
    Yeah i get how it works. I have a FIAV bypass plate installed already. I would like to get rid of the whole assembly though to clean up the engine bay some more. I just didn't know if the blockoff plate installs the same way, between the FIAV or in place of. I think there would be an issue with the length of the bolts. Just wondering how other have done it.

    Also what size caps do you get to block off the little vacuum lines on the top of the TB.
    #15
  16. iugrad92turbo

    iugrad92turbo Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Posts:
    9,624
    Likes Received:
    50
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
    Thats a interesting tb, kinda neat.
    #16
  17. SBR Joe

    SBR Joe Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    3
    Butler/Indiana, Pennsylvania
    The blockoff plate can be installed in place of it. The JMF kits come with the shorter bolts you need.

    And the caps are the smallest ones you can get off the shelf at the parts store. You could back woods it and just loop a vac line between them, but caps look cleaner ;)
    #17
  18. snowborder714

    snowborder714 Moderator

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Posts:
    11,736
    Likes Received:
    86
    Downingtown, Pennsylvania
    Or you can remove the nipples and install set screws. Or have the holes welded shut ;)
    #18
  19. 9!'clipseDOHC

    9!'clipseDOHC Moderator

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Posts:
    3,447
    Likes Received:
    114
    El Paso, Texas
    Ok cool, thats what I wanted to know.

    That is how mine are now but i am planning on capping them off for that cleaner look.
    #19
  20. 4g63eagle

    4g63eagle Awaiting Email Verification

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Posts:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    arozonoo, Africa
    wow this thread is great, I also have a question about this topic. i have a fiav bypass plate with the isc hole i just installed, and i need to know the coolant lines that run to the t/b i can just delete those now?
    #20
  21. snowborder714

    snowborder714 Moderator

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Posts:
    11,736
    Likes Received:
    86
    Downingtown, Pennsylvania
    Yes you can. Either loop the lines (thermo. housing to water pipe) or find a solid way to block them off. I tried coolant caps (heavy duty vacuum cap) and they didn't work.
    #21
  22. 4g63eagle

    4g63eagle Awaiting Email Verification

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Posts:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    arozonoo, Africa
    Thanks, i wasnt sure if had to hook them back up :D.
    #22
  23. 90rslaser

    90rslaser Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Posts:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheyenne, Wyoming
    So I can just blockoff or weld the top AND side nipples then?
    #23
  24. snowborder714

    snowborder714 Moderator

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Posts:
    11,736
    Likes Received:
    86
    Downingtown, Pennsylvania
    Yep!
    #24
  25. 90rslaser

    90rslaser Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Posts:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheyenne, Wyoming
    so whats the point of the fiav. or whatever its called. why did they make coolant lines go to the throttle body? just for more sh** to be in the way i guess?

    so i ripped the piece of sh** out, but have yet another question. when i was pulling it out(the canister and all the lines) there was a hard line that came from underneath the vehicle, up across the firewall, and at the end of it was some soft vacuum line that attached to the c/c. is that the line i need to run underneath the car for ventilation? here are some pics.
    the pieces im talking about are circled

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #25

Share This Page