Welcome to DSMtuners - the largest Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, 4G63t and 420A DSM performance resource on the web



















Login



Go Back   DSMtuners > DSM Forums > General > Newbie Forum
Welcome to DSMtuners - the largest Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, 4G63t and 420A DSM performance resource
You are browsing the site as a GUEST. Please login (or register) and gain the ability to post on our site and interact with other DSMers. You also get to browse the site with fewer advertisements. It is FREE to join!

Newbie Forum: Beginner/newbie/general DSM modification questions. First mods, how to run 10's when you haven't run 12's yet, any tech question that doesn't fit in another tech forum. Probationary Members must limit their tech posts to this forum and sub-forums.

Reply
 
LinkBack   Thread Tools
Old 12-16-2006, 01:43 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #1 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

theycallmedalgo's Avatar
Registered: Jan 2006
Tech Posts: 217
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: theycallmedalgo is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to theycallmedalgo

no gas pedal pressure!


I figured no one would respond on the other thread so I had to make another one because this is urgent.

There is no gas pedal pressure now, I cut the cruise control cable and then reinstalled everything. It is plugged in as it was, but now when I press the gas it just goes right to the floor and doesn't raise the rpms at all. I tried it with the car on and off.

Everything worked perfectly until I hacked the cruise control cable, does this cable need to be intact to have the gas pedal work? I pulled on the throttle cable and it moves smoothly like it should, the gas pedal just has no effect on it.

I need to drive my car and theres no gas pedal pressure, someone please help


mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 02:00 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #2 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

theycallmedalgo's Avatar
Registered: Jan 2006
Tech Posts: 217
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: theycallmedalgo is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to theycallmedalgo
Anyone?!?!

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 02:03 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #3 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

92AndAHalf's Avatar
Registered: Jan 2006
Tech Posts: 83
Photos: 7
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: 92AndAHalf is an unknown
From my understanding the throttle cable is routed through the cruise control box so it can be actuated when the cruise control is on. If you don't want the cruise control box you could try the non-cruise throttle cable.

I got this link from another post on this forum.

http://www.slowboyracing.com/more.php?id=5420&
View photos of this member's car 

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 02:07 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #4 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

WeaselHack's Avatar
Registered: Apr 2006
Tech Posts: 231
Classifieds Rating: 1
Reputation: WeaselHack is pretty helpful and trustworthy
Send a message via MSN to WeaselHack
Quote:
Originally Posted by 92AndAHalf View Post
From my understanding the throttle cable is routed through the cruise control box so it can be actuated when the cruise control is on. If you don't want the cruise control box you could try the non-cruise throttle cable.

I got this link from another post on this forum.

http://www.slowboyracing.com/more.php?id=5420&
You are correct! You need a non-cruse throttle cable...

Hopefully you didn’t FUBAR the cable otherwise a trip the junk yard and or ordering a replacement online is in your future

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 02:08 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #5 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

theycallmedalgo's Avatar
Registered: Jan 2006
Tech Posts: 217
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: theycallmedalgo is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to theycallmedalgo
Thank you but that doesn't solve my problem of having no pedal pressure. I'll leave the cruise control box in the engine bay so long as i can drive my car. I have no pedal pressure, the cruise control cable got sucked up now. Im thinking when i stepped on the gas it sucked the cruise control cable up. If thats the case then there is no cruise control cable and only 2 throttle cables.

Im so confused im about to shoot myself!

its dark now too I need a solution asap

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 02:08 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #6 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

92AndAHalf's Avatar
Registered: Jan 2006
Tech Posts: 83
Photos: 7
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: 92AndAHalf is an unknown
Now that I look at that link I think I'm going to purchase the non-cruise cable so i can remove the box and place my MAF-T box there.
View photos of this member's car 

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 02:11 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #7 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

theycallmedalgo's Avatar
Registered: Jan 2006
Tech Posts: 217
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: theycallmedalgo is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to theycallmedalgo
I fubar'd the cruise control cable but that shouldnt effect the gas pedal correct?

There has to be something i can do now...


I shouldnt need that cable if i keep the box in my engine bay.

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 02:11 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #8 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

WeaselHack's Avatar
Registered: Apr 2006
Tech Posts: 231
Classifieds Rating: 1
Reputation: WeaselHack is pretty helpful and trustworthy
Send a message via MSN to WeaselHack
Quote:
Originally Posted by theycallmedalgo View Post
Thank you but that doesn't solve my problem of having no pedal pressure. I'll leave the cruise control box in the engine bay so long as i can drive my car. I have no pedal pressure, the cruise control cable got sucked up now. Im thinking when i stepped on the gas it sucked the cruise control cable up. If thats the case then there is no cruise control cable and only 2 throttle cables.

Im so confused im about to shoot myself!

its dark now too I need a solution asap
You already answered your question...In your first post is says you cut the cable. Did you reattach it somehow? If not then this is your problem - replace it!

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 02:15 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #9 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

theycallmedalgo's Avatar
Registered: Jan 2006
Tech Posts: 217
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: theycallmedalgo is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to theycallmedalgo
Quote:
Originally Posted by WeaselHack View Post
You already answered your question...In your first post is says you cut the cable. Did you reattach it somehow? If not then this is your problem - replace it!
I cut the cruise control cable NOT the throttle cable. They shouldn't effect eachother RIGHT!? it doesnt make any sense, when the cruise control cable is pulled it has no effect on the throttle, so why isn't it working?!

The metal wire got sucked up into the cruise control cable black hose thing that goes into the firewall so if i do need to re-connect it im going to have to go fishing in order to find it. Then i would have to reconnect it somehow, and see if that fixes the problem.

Still I dont see how the cruise control cable being disconected effects the gas pedal pressure.

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 02:15 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #10 (permalink)
Probationary Member
 

razorawd's Avatar
Registered: May 2005
Tech Posts: 22
Photos: 1
Reputation: razorawd is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by WeaselHack View Post
You already answered your question...In your first post is says you cut the cable. Did you reattach it somehow? If not then this is your problem - replace it!
both cables route threw the cruise box and then to the tb
View photos of this member's car 

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 02:26 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #11 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

theycallmedalgo's Avatar
Registered: Jan 2006
Tech Posts: 217
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: theycallmedalgo is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to theycallmedalgo
shit, i thought i could just cut the cruise control cable and yank this box out instead ive basically ruined my car. Great, i read posts that said remove the cruise control box like it was easy. I basically wasted my time and killed my fu**ing car

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 02:28 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #12 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

92AndAHalf's Avatar
Registered: Jan 2006
Tech Posts: 83
Photos: 7
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: 92AndAHalf is an unknown
I would seriously go fishing for that cable and re-attach it asap. Then order the non-cruise cable if you really want the box deleted.
View photos of this member's car 

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 02:29 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #13 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

WeaselHack's Avatar
Registered: Apr 2006
Tech Posts: 231
Classifieds Rating: 1
Reputation: WeaselHack is pretty helpful and trustworthy
Send a message via MSN to WeaselHack
If you want to eliminate your cruse control you need to purchase a non curse control throttle cable. This cable will go directly from the gas pedal to the throttle body. You cannot eliminate your cruse control by simply removing the line going to the cc solenoid. Now that you have fubared your cruse control throttle cable you have 2 options:

1: Find a replacement cruse control cable for the one you hacked at the junk yard and keep cruse control
2: Find a non cruse control throttle cable from a junk yard or purchase one new online.

As things currently stand, I can’t think of anything you can do to get your car going again until you replace the fubared cable unless you can somehow repair the throttle cable you cut but I would imagine this would be rather difficult since I believe its braided steel.

-John

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 02:30 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #14 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

fwdeclipse's Avatar
Registered: Dec 2005
Tech Posts: 728
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: fwdeclipse is pretty helpful and trustworthy
Wow your acting as if you dropped a screw into your cylinders and you drove it and the car is a total loss. Call some junk yards or get a non cruise cable.

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 02:34 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #15 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

theycallmedalgo's Avatar
Registered: Jan 2006
Tech Posts: 217
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: theycallmedalgo is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to theycallmedalgo
it is a total loss haha i cant drive it. shit well i have my laptop, and a utility light outside and im going to work on this and try to fix the cable out. maybe i could detach it from the fire wall.

any other suggestions?

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 02:36 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #16 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

WeaselHack's Avatar
Registered: Apr 2006
Tech Posts: 231
Classifieds Rating: 1
Reputation: WeaselHack is pretty helpful and trustworthy
Send a message via MSN to WeaselHack
Upon further searching, I found some people who did a DIY job for eliminating the cruse control. Take a look:

http://dsmtuners.com/forums/showthre...cruise+control

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 02:43 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #17 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

theycallmedalgo's Avatar
Registered: Jan 2006
Tech Posts: 217
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: theycallmedalgo is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to theycallmedalgo
thanks but i dont think i can make my own braket like that. im trying to find the metal wire by disconnecting it from the fire wall. ill go from there and keep this updated as my laptop is on my headlight.

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 02:51 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #18 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

WeaselHack's Avatar
Registered: Apr 2006
Tech Posts: 231
Classifieds Rating: 1
Reputation: WeaselHack is pretty helpful and trustworthy
Send a message via MSN to WeaselHack
Just trace the cable coming out of the firewall and see what you can do. Here is another thread worth reading:

http://dsmtuners.com/forums/showthre...cruise+control

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 03:02 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #19 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

theycallmedalgo's Avatar
Registered: Jan 2006
Tech Posts: 217
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: theycallmedalgo is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to theycallmedalgo
thanks thats a nice setup that guy has, im just going to run the metal wire through the firewall and wrap it around the radiator hose and into the cc box. iLL just retie the metal wire and see how that works.

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 04:30 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #20 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

theycallmedalgo's Avatar
Registered: Jan 2006
Tech Posts: 217
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: theycallmedalgo is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to theycallmedalgo
im giving up for tonight.. i ran the wire through a plastic hose but was unable to hook it up the the other wire. I was thinking of buying a welder tomorrow and going nuts, would this work? or maybe a wire clip of some sort to hold teh 2 pieces together?

this would only be temporary of course, then i would order a new cable, probably a no cruise control one..

thanks for the help, there is still hope...

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

 

» Recent DSM Photo
» Current Poll
How many times have you been to the Shootout?
1 - 39.86%
167 Votes
2-5 - 41.77%
175 Votes
6-10 - 10.50%
44 Votes
11-15 - 3.10%
13 Votes
16-20 - 4.77%
20 Votes
Total Votes: 419
You may not vote on this poll.
» Online Users: 831
255 members and 576 guests
Most users ever online was 1,704, 03-17-2008 at 09:11 PM.
DSMtuners Main Sections
DSM Forums
DSM Regional Forums
DSM Builds/Journals
DSM Articles
DSM Tech Guides
DSM Upgrade Paths
DSM Parts Reviews
DSM Vendor Reviews

DSM Classifieds
DSM Parts Guides
DSM Photos
DSM Videos
DSM Timeslips
DSM Dyno Sheets
Shirts & Apparel
DSMtuners Decals

Advertising Info
Our Sponsors
Site Rules
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
Site FAQ
About Us
Contact Us

© 2014 DSMtuners.com - All Rights Reserved

DSMtuners is not affiliated with Diamond Star Motors. The Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, Mitsubishi Galant VR-4, and associated logos are trademarks of Diamond Star Motors, Mitsubishi Motors, and Chrysler Corporation. No, we do not hand out car sponsorships.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:51 PM.


Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0