'77 s30 4g63t

Posted by Alex7747, Mar 28, 2013
DSM Build Journals - Start a Journal to document your DSM build and document race events, dyno days, etc for the car.

1. Alex7747

Alex7747 Proven Member

Hesperia, California
    Hello everyone,

So around last year in December I decided i wanted a faster car then my Daily. The BMW handles like a dream but in a street line after 2nd gear it falls on its face. So i was looking at getting an M3 but then id be stuck at 333bhp and no way of getting more out of it (because of costs). So i ditched the idea and decided to do a 4g63t RWD car and i love BMWs e46 styling so i wanted to put a 4g63 into an e46 sedan.

Im a college student with not so much income and after about 2 months of playing with the idea i decided it wasn't going to be cost feasible and would take too long to finish so i ditched that idea and decided to get an s30 280z:hellyeah:. and so the build begins..

Plans for the car as of right now are:
    Paint
    find transmission
    Mount the engine
    wiring
    roll cage someday
    etc.

Im going to start with the motor because thats what i had first :)
    Back in january i bought a stock 6 bolt motor from someone on craigslist and tore it apart and decided to build it properly LOL.
    Engine: Wiseco 8.3:1 .020 over, Eagle rods, ACL race bearings, ARP head studs, and the head is stock for now. and some pictures of the engine...

From there i had to work on the cooling system and after many hours of research i decided to do one of Bill's ideas and block the front coolant holes in the head and drill an extra hole in the rear to move the flow from the front to back, to the back to front. so hopefully this works for me LOL

some pictures of the car when i saw it online, towing, and in my garage.

The beast motor along side the car.

Currently i am fixing rust spots and getting it ready for paint. heres a picture of a patch in the rear quarter.. Its not completely done but thats where I'm at.