Welcome to DSMtuners - The Talon, Laser, and Eclipse performance enthusiast resource
























Login


 Featured 
 Products 
 >>>>>> 
Go Back   DSMtuners > DSM Forums > 420A DSM Tech > 420A Bolt-on Tech

420A Bolt-on Tech Intake, exhaust, ignition, fuel system, cooling, etc - specific to 2G N/T DSMs. New Members must limit their 420A tech posts to this forum.

Reply  
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2003, 03:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Proven Member
 
From: Framingham, Massachusetts
Registered: Sep 2003
Posts: 88
Classifieds Rating: (0)
Reputation: EclipseGS4651 is an unknown
Just a big SCAM or is this for real????

I was searching on ebay and this intake blower popped up. Now I have seen these blowers before and they were all a bunch of B.S. but this seemed different. Heres the auction:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...tem=2445256833

I just wanted to know what you guys thought. Is this a big scam or a great deal?
Offline  

[posts] Reply With Quote
Related 420A Auctions
Old 12-02-2003, 04:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Proven Member
 
TURFNNSURF's Avatar
 
From: Ewing, New Jersey
Region: Tri State
Registered: May 2003
Posts: 553
Classifieds Rating: (5)
Reputation: TURFNNSURF is extremely helpful and trustworthyTURFNNSURF is extremely helpful and trustworthyTURFNNSURF is extremely helpful and trustworthy
BIG SCAM!!!!!!!!!!!!! stay away from it!!!! Anyone that buys that must also have the "Tornado" vortex creator intake also!!!!!

There are two forms of forced induction, Turbocharging and Supercharging. An electric fan that is just barely stronger than a blowdryer is NOT a supercharger!!!!


____________________________
Brad
Offline  

[posts] Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 04:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Proven Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Posts: 871
Classifieds Rating: (1)
Reputation: Eclipse96Ryder is an unknown
ya, its just a scam, i cant believe people are actually making money off of that
Offline  

[posts] [gallery] Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 04:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Proven Member
 
From: Ft. Myers, Florida
Registered: Jan 2003
Posts: 923
Classifieds Rating: (0)
Reputation: 97eclipseRS is more helpful than not
isnt nitrous another form of forced induction as well?
Offline  

[webpage] [posts] [gallery] Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 07:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Proven Member
 
TURFNNSURF's Avatar
 
From: Ewing, New Jersey
Region: Tri State
Registered: May 2003
Posts: 553
Classifieds Rating: (5)
Reputation: TURFNNSURF is extremely helpful and trustworthyTURFNNSURF is extremely helpful and trustworthyTURFNNSURF is extremely helpful and trustworthy
In response to your question 97eclipseRS. Yes, I guess Nitrous is a form of forced induction. I should have said "there are only two mechanical forms of forced induction, Turbocharging and Supercharging." that would have been more accurate..

I stand corrected...


____________________________
Brad
Offline  

[posts] Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 08:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Proven Member
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Posts: 20
Classifieds Rating: (0)
Reputation: volrath is an unknown
Quote:
Originally posted by Eclipse96Ryder
ya, its just a scam, i cant believe people are actually making money off of that
Just look at how many threads pop up about it every day on every car forum. Then think about all the people who buy one to find out instead of asking on a forum. They make a lot of money.
Offline  

[posts] Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 09:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Proven Member
 
IMMORTALSPYDER's Avatar
 
Car: 09 Eclipse Spyder GT V6
From: Ellicott City, Maryland
Region: Mid Atlantic
Registered: Nov 2003
Posts: 827
Classifieds Rating: (0)
Reputation: IMMORTALSPYDER is more helpful than not
those are just sumps from boats. It's a big scam.
Offline  

[posts] Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 09:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Proven Member
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Posts: 16
Classifieds Rating: (0)
Reputation: KenshinXero is an unknown
n2o is not a form of induced induction, you are not pushing (compressing) air into the chambers, what you are doing is introducing nitrious, which is introduced into the intake tract of an internal combustion engine, the effect is like a super charger or increasing the compression ratio of the engine.

n2o has more oxygen by weight than the atmosphere, the nitrogen reduced the temperature of the engine, thus weilding 25-35 percent more power using a small shot.

the compresion is increased, air is not pushed into the intake tract.

this is a common thing for people to get confused, technically nitrious is not a form of induced induction.

read more at, http://www.idavette.net/hib/nitrous.htm
Offline  

[posts] Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 09:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Proven Member
 
From: Ft. Myers, Florida
Registered: Jan 2003
Posts: 923
Classifieds Rating: (0)
Reputation: 97eclipseRS is more helpful than not
so if it isnt a type of forced induction then would a 2gnt with an all motor setup and nitrous still be considered all motor if the nitrous was used?
Offline  

[webpage] [posts] [gallery] Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 09:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Defiant's Avatar
 
From: glorious Galt, California
Registered: Jan 2003
Posts: 23,033
Classifieds Rating: (1)
Reputation: You can trust this leader of the site
Re: Just a big SCAM or is this for real????

Quote:
Originally posted by EclipseGS4651

I just wanted to know what you guys thought. Is this a big scam or a great deal?
They're absolute crap. No electric supercharging is available
Offline  

[webpage] [posts] [gallery] Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 09:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Defiant's Avatar
 
From: glorious Galt, California
Registered: Jan 2003
Posts: 23,033
Classifieds Rating: (1)
Reputation: You can trust this leader of the site
Quote:
Originally posted by 97eclipseRS
isnt nitrous another form of forced induction as well?
Not in the slightest- nothing in being forced.
Offline  

[webpage] [posts] [gallery] Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 09:44 PM   #12 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Defiant's Avatar
 
From: glorious Galt, California
Registered: Jan 2003
Posts: 23,033
Classifieds Rating: (1)
Reputation: You can trust this leader of the site
Quote:
Originally posted by 97eclipseRS
so if it isnt a type of forced induction then would a 2gnt with an all motor setup and nitrous still be considered all motor if the nitrous was used?
No. It's a motor with nitrous injection.
Offline  

[webpage] [posts] [gallery] Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 09:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
Proven Member
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Posts: 16
Classifieds Rating: (0)
Reputation: KenshinXero is an unknown
I dont know if the 2gnt would still be considered all motor, but in my book, I wouldnt say that it is being forced induced. Anyways, check up on this thread from my local dsm club, http://www.miamidsm.addr.com/phpBB2/...pic.php?t=1478 . its a pretty interesting read.
Offline  

[posts] Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 09:59 PM   #14 (permalink)
Proven Member
 
From: Ft. Myers, Florida
Registered: Jan 2003
Posts: 923
Classifieds Rating: (0)
Reputation: 97eclipseRS is more helpful than not
damn i need to meet up with you miami dsmers when i get back in town
Offline  

[webpage] [posts] [gallery] Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2003, 09:42 AM   #15 (permalink)
Proven Member
 
From: Sacramento, California
Region: NorCal
Registered: Jan 2003
Posts: 70
Classifieds Rating: (0)
Reputation: Burrito06 is an unknown
You can tell that it is fake right off the bat. Anyone who writes that much down as a description is obviously trying to rip you off. I especially liked the part where he said he can hang with vettes and has shocked a couple by beating them. Real intelligent guy
Offline  

[posts] Reply With Quote
Reply






Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:22 PM.

Page generated in 0.19032192 seconds (83.96% PHP - 16.04% MySQL) with 9 queries
DSM Forums | Pontiac Solstice/Saturn Sky Forums | Evolution Forums | WRX Forums

© 2001-2007 SPEEDtuners Network, LLC All Rights Reserved

We recommend the Firefox browser. Get

LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0