The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support STM Tuned

Turbo Oil Leak?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cammus

Probationary Member
Aug 8, 2010
Reynosa, Central_America
Well I noticed that my turbo is leaking oil :aha:

Where can I check the oil level or what can I do? :hmm:

btw im new in DSM world, I just bought this Eclipse haha :(

So I dont know a lot bout this :coy:

There are only a couple places it'll be possible for it to leak oil outside of a cracked CHRA.

1. The oil inlet is leaking (on the top)
2. The oil drain is leaking (on bottom)

Where is it leaking from? Also to add, turbochargers do not have their own seperate oil supply unlike some makes of superchargers. It's all coming from the oil that you pour in at the oil fill on top of the valve cover.

Well I noticed that my turbo is leaking oil :aha:

Where can I check the oil level or what can I do? :hmm:

btw im new in DSM world, I just bought this Eclipse haha :(

So I dont know a lot bout this :coy:

It can also be leaking from the oil return line into the pan. That tube is know to crack. Should be easy to see.

There are only a couple places it'll be possible for it to leak oil outside of a cracked CHRA.

1. The oil inlet is leaking (on the top)
2. The oil drain is leaking (on bottom)

Where is it leaking from? Also to add, turbochargers do not have their own seperate oil supply unlike some makes of superchargers. It's all coming from the oil that you pour in at the oil fill on top of the valve cover.

You must be logged in to view this image or video.

Well I saw the oil leak under the Turbo...maybe a hose? :hmm: