The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Morrison Fabrications
Please Support STM Tuned

ECMlink Attempting to understand ECMlink

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

miliman13

10+ Year Contributor
Jan 1, 2011
tampa, Florida
ok, i have no experience with link, I read, and watched the ECM tutorials. at this moment i only have one question, how do i lean out my mixture ? i dialed in my values, but i'm very ,very rich, (10 on my AEM Gauge) im just looking to lean out to get a decent idle (14-15), Then later ill work on leaning out while the car is driving.

should i adjust from the [fuel] tab in dsm-link or [Maf-comp] tab?
Thanks, please dont hurt me im learning.:sneaky:

I also want to mention, that i meet the list required prior to coming to this thread.

The ECMLink tutorial literally holds you by the hand and walks you through idle/cruise tuning AFR's.

http://www.ecmtuning.com/demos/fueltrim.html

Not trying to sound rude but that video is better than ANYTHING one of us could try to explain. Once you get your idle tuned (watching that demo as many times as you need) post a log of it idling for ~60 seconds completely warmed up (180*+ coolant temps).

The FUEL tab with the sliders only affects WOT and is an old school way of tuning, once you get into WOT you'll play with your OLMaxOct direct access tables and the MAFComp sliders to tune AFR's. Same with the timing, the sliders are an old school way of tuning (works fine but not much resolution) so you'd use the TmgMaxOct direct access table to tune it.

:dsm:

very informative videos,I have watched all of the ones available on the ECM page,
in that video he makes adjustments in the MAF-COMP tab, to smooth out his combined FT.