Welcome to DSMtuners - the largest Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, 4G63t and 420A DSM performance resource on the web



















Login



Go Back   DSMtuners > DSM Forums > Regional DSM Events > Canada DSM Forum
Welcome to DSMtuners - the largest Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, 4G63t and 420A DSM performance resource
You are browsing the site as a GUEST. Please login (or register) and gain the ability to post on our site and interact with other DSMers. You also get to browse the site with fewer advertisements. It is FREE to join!

Canada DSM Forum: Yukon, NW, BC, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Toronto, Montreal

Reply  
 
LinkBack   Thread Tools
Old 03-08-2011, 09:47 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #1 (permalink)
Probationary Member
 

CrossDSM's Avatar
Registered: Mar 2011
Tech Posts: 5
Reputation: CrossDSM is an unknown
Question

[SOLVED]Idle surge, Need Help!


Hi i have a wired problem with my "1992 eagle talon Base".
What it does is exactly the same thing like in the video below, and revs only till 3500.
YouTube - 92 Eagle talon Problems. (I FIXED IT)

but even though I've changed the ECU!!!...it still doing the same thing.


EDIT:
looks like it's getting to much fuel, I checked the spark plugs I recently bought, they were black as hell.


Last edited by CrossDSM; 04-16-2011 at 04:12 PM. Reason: Adding things you might need to know.

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 10:09 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #2 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

98DiamondStar's Avatar
Registered: Jan 2010
Tech Posts: 109
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: 98DiamondStar is an unknown
Did you ground the ignition so the computer isn't trying to compensate for the change when you adjust your CAS?


____________________________
Stockman::91' Eagle Talon TSI AWD;95 Jeep Cherokee

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 08:16 AM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #3 (permalink)
Probationary Member
 

CrossDSM's Avatar
Registered: Mar 2011
Tech Posts: 5
Reputation: CrossDSM is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98DiamondStar View Post
Did you ground the ignition so the computer isn't trying to compensate for the change when you adjust your CAS?
Sorry i just got into DSM's a few month ago, I didnt know that you have to ground it, i'll try though just tell me how to ground it.

Last edited by CrossDSM; 03-09-2011 at 03:12 PM.

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 04:49 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #4 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

98DiamondStar's Avatar
Registered: Jan 2010
Tech Posts: 109
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: 98DiamondStar is an unknown
Right by your battery theres a big connector and a small connector, you need to use a grounding wire, with alligator clips (what i use) and run it from that big connector to the negative terminal on the battery. Then just make sure with your timing gun, you connect the trigger clamp on the spark plug wire that runs to the cylinder closest to your cam gears.


____________________________
Stockman::91' Eagle Talon TSI AWD;95 Jeep Cherokee

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 05:30 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #5 (permalink)
Probationary Member
 

CrossDSM's Avatar
Registered: Mar 2011
Tech Posts: 5
Reputation: CrossDSM is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98DiamondStar View Post
Right by your battery theres a big connector and a small connector, you need to use a grounding wire, with alligator clips (what i use) and run it from that big connector to the negative terminal on the battery. Then just make sure with your timing gun, you connect the trigger clamp on the spark plug wire that runs to the cylinder closest to your cam gears.
I have a ground wire connected from the battery to the body, and i wish i had that gun xD

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 07:40 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #6 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

98DiamondStar's Avatar
Registered: Jan 2010
Tech Posts: 109
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: 98DiamondStar is an unknown
What timing light are you using? I would ground it out where i stated, i'm going to go out, and make a grounding wire put it on my car and take a picture for you, I'm running dsmlink, so i get to just check a box "ground ignition to ecu" and it's good to go, but i can see where doing this without the dsmlink could be a hassle. Let me know what type of timing light you're using, i'll also upload a picture of how the gun needs to look when it's hooked up.


____________________________
Stockman::91' Eagle Talon TSI AWD;95 Jeep Cherokee

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 07:48 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #7 (permalink)
Probationary Member
 

CrossDSM's Avatar
Registered: Mar 2011
Tech Posts: 5
Reputation: CrossDSM is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98DiamondStar View Post
What timing light are you using? I would ground it out where i stated, i'm going to go out, and make a grounding wire put it on my car and take a picture for you, I'm running dsmlink, so i get to just check a box "ground ignition to ecu" and it's good to go, but i can see where doing this without the dsmlink could be a hassle. Let me know what type of timing light you're using, i'll also upload a picture of how the gun needs to look when it's hooked up.
The problem is, I don't have a timing light or a gun. but tomorrow i can try to get one.
Thanks btw.

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 09:52 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #8 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

98DiamondStar's Avatar
Registered: Jan 2010
Tech Posts: 109
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: 98DiamondStar is an unknown
Pictures by 98DiamondStar - Photobucket

Heres an album I put together, sorry for the long delay, but I had to run to the parts store before it closed. These pictures should show you everything you need to know. (preparation for timing the car) Also, I would grab some new plugs for the car before you time it, I see you edited and said yours were black? Would not hurt at all to get a new set, and gap them correctly.


____________________________
Stockman::91' Eagle Talon TSI AWD;95 Jeep Cherokee

Last edited by 98DiamondStar; 03-09-2011 at 09:54 PM. Reason: Posted before I could explain my link.

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 05:17 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #9 (permalink)
Probationary Member
 

CrossDSM's Avatar
Registered: Mar 2011
Tech Posts: 5
Reputation: CrossDSM is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98DiamondStar View Post
Pictures by 98DiamondStar - Photobucket

Heres an album I put together, sorry for the long delay, but I had to run to the parts store before it closed. These pictures should show you everything you need to know. (preparation for timing the car) Also, I would grab some new plugs for the car before you time it, I see you edited and said yours were black? Would not hurt at all to get a new set, and gap them correctly.
Ok so i did what you told me to, its working right et least, and i made it even better after i changed the vacuum. but its not as it suppose to be yet, still eating to much fuel, and not passing the 3500rpm

maybe its the TPS for the RPM's?
and the EFI for fuel?

Thanks

Last edited by CrossDSM; 03-12-2011 at 07:47 AM. Reason: forgot something

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 10:27 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #10 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

98DiamondStar's Avatar
Registered: Jan 2010
Tech Posts: 109
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: 98DiamondStar is an unknown
Hey man, Not a bad video at all, It still sounds like your timing is off a hair. It could be your throttle position sensor, but that being said, you've got a LOT OF SMOKE in your garage, lol, it's either WAY too much fuel, or not ENOUGH spark, check the gaps on your plugs, and also check your fuel pressure regulator. I mean, this could be 10 different things, but we've checked off 2 or 3 already, so lets keep going.


____________________________
Stockman::91' Eagle Talon TSI AWD;95 Jeep Cherokee

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 10:30 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #11 (permalink)
Probationary Member
 

CrossDSM's Avatar
Registered: Mar 2011
Tech Posts: 5
Reputation: CrossDSM is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98DiamondStar View Post
Hey man, Not a bad video at all, It still sounds like your timing is off a hair. It could be your throttle position sensor, but that being said, you've got a LOT OF SMOKE in your garage, lol, it's either WAY too much fuel, or not ENOUGH spark, check the gaps on your plugs, and also check your fuel pressure regulator. I mean, this could be 10 different things, but we've checked off 2 or 3 already, so lets keep going.
k will wait for tomorrow, maybe i can get a tps.

EDIT:
1.About the smoke i know its too much fuel cause i recently bought fuel for it and after a few hours it have gone!
and the spark plugs are gappet

2.I got a timing gun and now its in time, i noticed that the fans started to work and some other things but the engine sound got worse.

3.when i unplug the airflow sensor it starts to act wired, sounds like a striate line and when it gets spark it goes high
like a wave up and down up and down.

Last edited by CrossDSM; 03-14-2011 at 06:50 PM. Reason: adding

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 06:55 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #12 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

98DiamondStar's Avatar
Registered: Jan 2010
Tech Posts: 109
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: 98DiamondStar is an unknown
so you got plugs, gapped them, you have it timed, and it sounds worse? Have you checked your fuel pressure regulator? the Diaphram in it may have went bad it could just be pushing too much fuel at too high of pressure.
Also check your PCV valve, make sure it is working like it should. I just can't see how dumping too much fuel alone would cause it to hit a wall at 3000 rpm like that, maybe theres too much pressure in the crank case. I've seen that happen before.


____________________________
Stockman::91' Eagle Talon TSI AWD;95 Jeep Cherokee

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 04:40 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #13 (permalink)
Probationary Member
 

CrossDSM's Avatar
Registered: Mar 2011
Tech Posts: 5
Reputation: CrossDSM is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98DiamondStar View Post
so you got plugs, gapped them, you have it timed, and it sounds worse? Have you checked your fuel pressure regulator? the Diaphram in it may have went bad it could just be pushing too much fuel at too high of pressure.
Also check your PCV valve, make sure it is working like it should. I just can't see how dumping too much fuel alone would cause it to hit a wall at 3000 rpm like that, maybe theres too much pressure in the crank case. I've seen that happen before.
The PCV valve seems to be fine i did a check by following the "Haynes Repair Manual"
dont know about the FPR yet

Last edited by CrossDSM; 04-14-2011 at 10:51 PM.

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 05:27 AM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #14 (permalink)
Probationary Member
 

dany69xxx's Avatar
Registered: Aug 2003
Tech Posts: 1
Reputation: dany69xxx is an unknown
Same thing or very similar happenned to me back when i had an NT, it was caused by the ECU caps leaking, you should have them replaced before fiddling with anything else.

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 08:22 AM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #15 (permalink)
Probationary Member
 

CrossDSM's Avatar
Registered: Mar 2011
Tech Posts: 5
Reputation: CrossDSM is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by dany69xxx View Post
Same thing or very similar happenned to me back when i had an NT, it was caused by the ECU caps leaking, you should have them replaced before fiddling with anything else.
I have changed the ecu and its the same, Here's some logs

LOG 1
LOG 2
LOG 3


EDIT:
PROBLEM SOLVED, IT WAS THE TIMING!!!

Last edited by CrossDSM; 04-16-2011 at 04:12 PM. Reason: Added info

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 11:58 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #16 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

98DiamondStar's Avatar
Registered: Jan 2010
Tech Posts: 109
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: 98DiamondStar is an unknown
I'm glad you got it man, I figured it was the timing all along, I'm fighting my own battles with my car right now, between misfires at wide open throttle, the boost leak at the throttle body, etc etc. Anyways, Good to hear you got it!!


____________________________
Stockman::91' Eagle Talon TSI AWD;95 Jeep Cherokee

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 06:49 AM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #17 (permalink)
Probationary Member
 

CrossDSM's Avatar
Registered: Mar 2011
Tech Posts: 5
Reputation: CrossDSM is an unknown
Thanks for helping bud
Good luck with your issue!

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

 

» Recent DSM Photo
» Current Poll
How many times have you been to the Shootout?
1 - 40.00%
168 Votes
2-5 - 41.67%
175 Votes
6-10 - 10.48%
44 Votes
11-15 - 3.10%
13 Votes
16-20 - 4.76%
20 Votes
Total Votes: 420
You may not vote on this poll.
» Online Users: 895
256 members and 639 guests
Most users ever online was 1,704, 03-17-2008 at 09:11 PM.
DSMtuners Main Sections
DSM Forums
DSM Regional Forums
DSM Builds/Journals
DSM Articles
DSM Tech Guides
DSM Upgrade Paths
DSM Parts Reviews
DSM Vendor Reviews

DSM Classifieds
DSM Parts Guides
DSM Photos
DSM Videos
DSM Timeslips
DSM Dyno Sheets
Shirts & Apparel
DSMtuners Decals

Advertising Info
Our Sponsors
Site Rules
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
Site FAQ
About Us
Contact Us

© 2014 DSMtuners.com - All Rights Reserved

DSMtuners is not affiliated with Diamond Star Motors. The Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, Mitsubishi Galant VR-4, and associated logos are trademarks of Diamond Star Motors, Mitsubishi Motors, and Chrysler Corporation. No, we do not hand out car sponsorships.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0