Need Help!

Posted by CrossDSM, Mar 8, 2011
Canada DSM Forum - Yukon, NW, BC, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Toronto, Montreal

  1. CrossDSM

    CrossDSM Probationary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Regina, SK_Canada
    Hi i have a wired problem with my "1992 eagle talon Base".
    What it does is exactly the same thing like in the video below, and revs only till 3500.
    YouTube - 92 Eagle talon Problems. (I FIXED IT)

    but even though I've changed the ECU!!!...it still doing the same thing.


    EDIT:
    looks like it's getting to much fuel, I checked the spark plugs I recently bought, they were black as hell.
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2011
    #1
  2. 98DiamondStar

    98DiamondStar Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Posts:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Soldotna, Alaska
    Did you ground the ignition so the computer isn't trying to compensate for the change when you adjust your CAS?
    #2
  3. CrossDSM

    CrossDSM Probationary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Regina, SK_Canada
    Sorry i just got into DSM's a few month ago, I didnt know that you have to ground it, i'll try though just tell me how to ground it.
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2011
    #3
  4. 98DiamondStar

    98DiamondStar Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Posts:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Soldotna, Alaska
    Right by your battery theres a big connector and a small connector, you need to use a grounding wire, with alligator clips (what i use) and run it from that big connector to the negative terminal on the battery. Then just make sure with your timing gun, you connect the trigger clamp on the spark plug wire that runs to the cylinder closest to your cam gears.
    #4
  5. CrossDSM

    CrossDSM Probationary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Regina, SK_Canada
    I have a ground wire connected from the battery to the body, and i wish i had that gun xD
    #5
  6. 98DiamondStar

    98DiamondStar Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Posts:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Soldotna, Alaska
    What timing light are you using? I would ground it out where i stated, i'm going to go out, and make a grounding wire put it on my car and take a picture for you, I'm running dsmlink, so i get to just check a box "ground ignition to ecu" and it's good to go, but i can see where doing this without the dsmlink could be a hassle. Let me know what type of timing light you're using, i'll also upload a picture of how the gun needs to look when it's hooked up.
    #6
  7. CrossDSM

    CrossDSM Probationary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Regina, SK_Canada
    The problem is, I don't have a timing light or a gun. but tomorrow i can try to get one.
    Thanks btw.
    #7
  8. 98DiamondStar

    98DiamondStar Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Posts:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Soldotna, Alaska
    Pictures by 98DiamondStar - Photobucket

    Heres an album I put together, sorry for the long delay, but I had to run to the parts store before it closed. These pictures should show you everything you need to know. (preparation for timing the car) Also, I would grab some new plugs for the car before you time it, I see you edited and said yours were black? Would not hurt at all to get a new set, and gap them correctly.
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2011
    #8
  9. CrossDSM

    CrossDSM Probationary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Regina, SK_Canada
    Ok so i did what you told me to, its working right et least, and i made it even better after i changed the vacuum. but its not as it suppose to be yet, still eating to much fuel, and not passing the 3500rpm

    maybe its the TPS for the RPM's?
    and the EFI for fuel?

    Thanks
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2011
    #9
  10. 98DiamondStar

    98DiamondStar Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Posts:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Soldotna, Alaska
    Hey man, Not a bad video at all, It still sounds like your timing is off a hair. It could be your throttle position sensor, but that being said, you've got a LOT OF SMOKE in your garage, LOL, it's either WAY too much fuel, or not ENOUGH spark, check the gaps on your plugs, and also check your fuel pressure regulator. I mean, this could be 10 different things, but we've checked off 2 or 3 already, so lets keep going.
    #10
  11. CrossDSM

    CrossDSM Probationary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Regina, SK_Canada
    k will wait for tomorrow, maybe i can get a tps.

    EDIT:
    1.About the smoke i know its too much fuel cause i recently bought fuel for it and after a few hours it have gone!
    and the spark plugs are gappet

    2.I got a timing gun and now its in time, i noticed that the fans started to work and some other things but the engine sound got worse.

    3.when i unplug the airflow sensor it starts to act wired, sounds like a striate line and when it gets spark it goes high
    like a wave up and down up and down.
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2011
    #11
  12. 98DiamondStar

    98DiamondStar Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Posts:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Soldotna, Alaska
    so you got plugs, gapped them, you have it timed, and it sounds worse? Have you checked your fuel pressure regulator? the Diaphram in it may have went bad it could just be pushing too much fuel at too high of pressure.
    Also check your PCV valve, make sure it is working like it should. I just can't see how dumping too much fuel alone would cause it to hit a wall at 3000 rpm like that, maybe theres too much pressure in the crank case. I've seen that happen before.
    #12
  13. CrossDSM

    CrossDSM Probationary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Regina, SK_Canada
    The PCV valve seems to be fine i did a check by following the "Haynes Repair Manual"
    dont know about the FPR yet
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2011
    #13
  14. dany69xxx

    dany69xxx Probationary Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sherbrooke, Quebec_Canada
    Same thing or very similar happenned to me back when i had an NT, it was caused by the ECU caps leaking, you should have them replaced before fiddling with anything else.
    #14
  15. CrossDSM

    CrossDSM Probationary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Regina, SK_Canada
    I have changed the ecu and its the same, Here's some logs

    LOG 1
    LOG 2
    LOG 3


    EDIT:
    PROBLEM SOLVED, IT WAS THE TIMING!!!
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2011
    #15
  16. 98DiamondStar

    98DiamondStar Proven Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Posts:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Soldotna, Alaska
    I'm glad you got it man, I figured it was the timing all along, I'm fighting my own battles with my car right now, between misfires at wide open throttle, the boost leak at the throttle body, etc etc. Anyways, Good to hear you got it!!:rocks::hellyeah:
    #16
  17. CrossDSM

    CrossDSM Probationary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Regina, SK_Canada
    Thanks for helping bud :cool:
    Good luck with your issue!
    #17

Share This Page