The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support JNZ Tuning
Please Support STM Tuned

weird tuning issues..need help!!!

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

talonted_one

20+ Year Contributor
Oct 15, 2002
Jacksonville, North_Carolina
First of all this will probably be a lil lengthy so I appologize in advance.

Im having this weird problem with my car. Between 3kand 4k rpm the car feels like it's falling on its face. There is a hesitation and it also feels like the car wants to move but is being held back.

I suspect the clutch master cylinder or the the clutch its self.

I datalogged a few runs and i see that my initial timing is around 30* when i go to WOT timing falls to as much as 7*.

I'm new to tuning and im lost rigth now. I know that excesive timing retard is a sign of knock, but if i richen things up, I hit fuel cut.

This maybe unrelated but I also noticed that my 14b spools slower in the lower gears i.e. full boost @4k+ rpm. in 1st and 2nd gear even with my exhaust unbolted boost still comes on late.

here is an example of one run in 3rd gear:

rpm timing

4632 31*
4984 8*
5500 10*
6016 13*

EGTs are under 900*c
Boost is at 15 psi.

I need some Ideas. hit me up on the board or on AOL or yahoo sign on's are on my profile

MODS.

all free mods
ported 14b,1G tb,1g intake mani,ported head,5 angle valve job,3" ATR cat back,ACT 2100,ported exh mani,K&N intake,hallman boost controller,Greddy type-S bov,o2 dump,APEXi S-AFC,Blitz duall tt,autometer boost guage,Greddy EGT,custom uip,pocketlogger

please help all criticism is welcomed

Id like to see your o2 values and exact egt's