The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Rix Racing
Please Support STM Tuned

weird fuel cut problem? and weird noise?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eclipertnr90

10+ Year Contributor
Feb 26, 2009
Milford, New_Hampshire
I am new to the DSM world! and ive been having this problem for a while now! I have a 1997 Eclipse Gst and it has a 14b turbo racing dejon front mount, turbo back exhaust, stock injectors, stock fuel pump... I am running about 12-13 psi... and when its in the high RPMs it hits fuel cut?.. also when you step on it it makes this weird noise some said its "like a bov for the waste gate" i dont know if this is true but it sounds pretty bad it doesnt sound right? does anyone have any idea what this could be?

Could you make a quick video for better diagnosis of the noise? Fuel cut is all based on Injector Duty Cycle. So when your Duty Cycle hits 100%, the ECU shuts the fuel system down to save it from leaning out and blowing up. If you are running really rich, 13psi could be enough to max out those 450cc injectors. Have you checked your O2 sensor, if that is faulty or has a slow response, that can cause weird fuel issues.

check fuel pressure. Try changing your filter first. This could also be due to low fuel pressure. The stock ECU should maintain fuel trim to 16psi on that car.

How would low fuel pressure cause fuel cut at a lower boost level than a "good running" car which cuts at 17psi.