The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support ExtremePSI

2G Walbro fuel pump install for E85 (the correct way!)

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This is how I install a Walbro 450/525/535 in a 2g sending unit. Also, a great way to fix a broken/twisted fuel line.

Pictures show how I got it versus finished product. I’ve been doing this mod for atleast 10 years, maybe even more. After tuning so many cars and logging fuel pressure, 9 times out of 10, the fuel pressure isn’t 1:1 because the pump was not installed correctly like pictured. Result is high injector duty and maxed out injectors… and you’ll have to pay your tuner again to retune it after you fix it. I won’t even tune a car if this mod wasn't done in a 2g.

In my opinion, a person driving the car hard and competing should have a surge tank but this will get most by who are just doing basic things. There a bunch of different ways to beef up the fuel system more but this is the cheapest and most reliable way to get it done. Not going to type up a full how to because this is a very simple modification and should be self explanatory but I will note a few things.

- Make sure you use real R10 5/16” submersible fuel line and cut length to exactly 1 1/4”. If it doesn’t say R10 or submersible on it, DO NOT USE IT! So many people install J9 high pressure line thinking it’s ok and it’s not. It will burst after a few months because the fuel eats the outside of the line breaking down the structure of the line and then will bust. Fuel pressure drops during a pull, so will your bank account when you have to rebuild engine.
- Use the high pressure clamps as pictured.