The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support ExtremePSI

Transmission Rebuild

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gsxeclipsed

15+ Year Contributor
Sep 24, 2004
Greenwood, Indiana
Hey i got a free trans with a car i picked up. the guy that gave it to me said it had been rebuilt under 3000 miles ago but was broken. so after collecting dust in my garage i decided to open it up and see how much damage was done. i was pleased to see only one bearing had failed. Now my question is...is it ok to replace this one bearing? or do i need to do more?. ill attach pics of the bearing. the snycros all look good to me but im no expert. i also plan on adding the filter and RIPGRIP front diff insert.

You must be logged in to view this image or video.

I've seen a few sets of OEM bearings for a full tranny online. You might check out getting a set and replacing all of them. If one failed the others may too. Bearings are cheap, trannys aren't.

i did see a set from teamrip.com. the bearings seem to be ok but your right its always better to be safe then sorry. now what is best way to get the bearings off? i think there is a press at work i can use but i need to make sure.

Hey i got a free trans with a car i picked up. the guy that gave it to me said it had been rebuilt under 3000 miles ago but was broken. so after collecting dust in my garage i decided to open it up and see how much damage was done. i was pleased to see only one bearing had failed. Now my question is...is it ok to replace this one bearing? or do i need to do more?. ill attach pics of the bearing. the snycros all look good to me but im no expert. i also plan on adding the filter and RIPGRIP front diff insert.