The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support STM Tuned

Transmission/Clutch Replacement

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eLeCtRoN_bLu

20+ Year Contributor
Apr 14, 2002
Stinky_AZ
does anyone here know how to replace clutch? I have an ACT clutch for my 1st gen eclipse, and i need to replace my stock one because i think it's all wear out or something. by the way is it hard to remove the tranny and replace the new clutch? I have no experience about disassembling and assembling the tranny, please give me info how.

should i go buy "Haynes Auto Manual" and follow instruction?
what tools that will be needed?

I'm only 18 and have no experience on disassembling, do you think i can do it at home??

Give yourself two days plus when ever you can get the flywheel to a machine shop to get it resurfaced.

Go to www.vfaq.com Use that clutch replacement instruction the Haynes manual has you take out too many parts that you do not need to mess with.

i would recommend that you have a full set of metric sockets, wrenchs and an impact wrench with sockets too. Oh jack stands and a hoist make things easier.