The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support Rix Racing

420A To build myself or send to a shop?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Muddy_Lotus

Probationary Member
Oct 12, 2020
Puyallup, Washington
Hey everyone! I apologize if this isn't in the right category this is my first time posting here.

I just picked up a 97 eclipse rs with a 402a in it. I want to do a rebuild on it since the engine in it is knocking. However I've never done a full rebuild before. I had an 03 mini cooper that I did part of a rebuild on head gaskets new cylinder head etc. I've replaced a lot of stuff and I'm pretty good with electrical wiring but I've never fully rebuilt anything. I'm just not sure if this is something I can tackle myself or if I would be better off having it done at a shop. I'm trying to avoid dumping an obnoxious amount into the car if that's at all possible.

My goal is some built internals with a small turbo. That's what I had in mind nothing too big or crazy. This is just a car I plan on having some fun driving around and possibly taking to the local meets.

I really appreciate any advice anyone might have for me as I'm trying to determine which direction to go. Thanks so much!

420A is an easy motor to work on. If you have a cherry picker or some type of hoist to get the engine out you can do it yourself. I pull mine from my circle track car and rebuild/freshen it up every year. The hardest part is probably timing the engine to be honest. And if you've done a headgasket you've done a timing belt.