The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic
Please Support STM Tuned

Stripped head bolt holes

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sypherzero

15+ Year Contributor
Feb 14, 2008
Marion, North_Carolina
No solid information i would find another block, and not take chances but thats just me, i learned a lot of lessons over a decade with these things.

Is it a 7bolt? If so I'd take it to the machine shop and have them drill and tap the holes for 6bolt studs. I wouldn't mess with the thread inserts personally. Also Im a ford tech the save a thread inserts for the spark plugs usually come out the next time you change the plug.

Why bore out to a 6-bolt stud when you can get them bored to 1/2in!

Last edited:
The time serts will be fine to use if installed properly, it is common on the caddy "Northstar" engine to have all the head bolt holes fixed with time serts when the heads are removed.

But going to the 12mm head studs may be more cost effective than the time serts.

I'm curious how one strips a head bolt hole anyway? It isn't like they could be started crooked or anything else. We are talking about the bolts that hold the head to the block correct?

6 bolt swap is a great idea! You have the crank for the stroker already! Might as well go for it! Just grab pistons and rods! Winning! I picked up a new 6 bolt long block for 60 bucks from a junk yard! No cracks or leaks and is golden!

Luke

The time serts will be fine to use if installed properly, it is common on the caddy "Northstar" engine to have all the head bolt holes fixed with time serts when the heads are removed.

But going to the 12mm head studs may be more cost effective than the time serts.