The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Kiggly Racing
Please Support ExtremePSI

Slow spooling HX-40. Suggestions....?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Few short logs today. No noticable difference 10 psi by 4k in 3rd gear. This is going WOT at 3k rpm in 3rd. Same test netted me 13-14psi in 4th gear.

If I actually lauched the car in 1st and went though all the gears I'm sure it would be better. I'll try to get out of town and get a decent 1/4 pass out of it this weekend. I have a scan master II I can get some base lines from.

That's just strange. I really expected the crack to be the main cause. Any chance you have another one somewhere that you can't see? (although I assume you had the mani off when you welded it. LOL)

I'm digging the steel rule used for a brace. ;)

Forgot to update the first post explaining the "ruler brace" ROFL

Taking off the manifold to weld it? Nahh!:D I know it would have been better to clean the carbon off the back for the best weld. (Hoping there wasn’t much carbon with e85.) This crack was so conveniently located I couldn’t bring myself to dismantle everything. I just stop drilled it and went to town. I was able to get good penetration and quite a bit of heat in it.

You would a think a .63 housing would spool a bit faster than a .70. Of course I may not see full boost on a .70 AR until 5500rpm with my setup. Who knows… 10lbs on this turbo feels healthy. I’m not that disappointed with it. It’s just a huge change from the light switch like spool-up of the E316g. Maybe I’ll pick up a .55 BEP housing down the road. Esp. if this manifold falls apart! WTF

Last edited:
Going from a 25" to a 27" tire helped spool out a bit.

Last edited: