The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support Morrison Fabrication

2G shutting off problems

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dustin0092

Probationary Member
Sep 9, 2012
barbourville, Kentucky
I just got my 98 eclipse gst . Im rather new to the dsm. My everyday drive car is a cobalt. Anyways. Its pushing about 10psi it runs great. But it will just shut off when i let off the gass. About 50% of the time. I think the motor needs idled up a little but idk? Any sugestions.?

Well the base idle should be 750 rpms +/-50. That's with no accessories on, so headlights, a/c, radiator fan, etc. is off.

You adjust the base idle using the base idle set screw (BISS), which is on the throttle body. But you'll need to make sure the ISC is setup properly before you go messing with the BISS.

When you say let off the gas, is this after a hard pull, warmed up or cold, when you push clutch in? A little more info might help us narrow things down.

When i just start it. It will set and idle sometimes and sometimes it will die. But in a hard pull it will die everytime as soon as i let off the gas it was a friend of mines that i bought about a week ago after he put a new turbo on it. I plan on taking it to a shop and having everything looked at and having any hoses ect that looks rough replaced

Well, it could be a number of things if you just got the car and aren't familiar with how everything is setup.

Could be a fuel issue, as in the fuel pump, regulator or filer are slightly gummed up. Plugs and wires should be checked and replaced if needed.