The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support ExtremePSI

self life of a turbo'ed 420a

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jimi

Probationary Member
Jan 26, 2003
vancouver_bc
I'm rather new to the dsm world, but i currently have a 420a // manuel and i was planning to up the power by adding a hahn stage 2 to it as well as strengthening the bottom end. I have done some extensive research on the matter, however there doesn't seem to be any info on the long term effects of turboing a 420. I was wonding if any of you that have "turbo'ed" the 420 have had any problems. Or should i just sell my ride and go for the turbo tsi( oh ya i have a esi talon if you don;t already know).
Oh ya the only reason i do have a esi in stead of a tsi is that for some strange reason( i blame hollywood ...namely a certian " fast to jump on the band wagon" movie) the tsi is about 5 - 8 g's more then the esi, and that is for cars with over 100 k's on them. I bought my esi with 50k's for less then half of the going rate of tsi with twice the clicks.
So should i go with the bullet proof mitsu engine in a tsi and shell out the extra cash, or is a turbo'ed esi with strengthen bottom gonna last is my question. Pls help

Really, was your bottom end built up as well, and if you don't mind me asking ,how much hp r u pushing and how much boost do you run, and is it a daily driver. sorry about the q's, but i'm just afraid if i push 200 hp out of the 420a it might go to crank walk ville.