The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support Rix Racing

SCCA AutoX

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

neuralracing

15+ Year Contributor
Jul 16, 2003
San Juan, Puerto Rico, Central_America
Anyone use there 1G AWD for Autoxing... my question is What class do they put us in if we have a "JDM" engine with a Big 16G and 550 Inj.? The local club here in Puerto Rico gives a 7 point penalty on engine swaps... up to 14 points before you are moved up to the next class. A stock turbo DSM runs in the E class if I am not mistaken. How does an AWD 1G do when compared to the competition?

I'm just getting into autocross myself. I've been to a few non SCCA events so far and plan on going to my first SCCA event this weekend. As far as I can tell from the rule book that big 16g is going to put you into Street Mod. I plan on running novice as long as possible, I think its 3 events, then I'll be getting my ass kicked in street mod. There are some insanely fast cars in my area that run that class, and every one's on R compound tires except me, I'll be on street tires. It's a pretty much anything goes class.

"7 point penalty on engine swaps... up to 14 points before you are moved up to the next class."

I have never heard of that sort of penalty contingeny in SCCA Solo II, How are they quantifying the point penalty.. time, seconds added to your lap time? Do they have judges or something... seem weird unless its non SCCA club with thier own scoring system.

You'ld be in Street Modified SM with your set up. And yes it helps tremendously to have R compound.