The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support Rix Racing

[RESOLVED] HELP- 4G37 (1.8L) Lifter Installation

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Demon33

10+ Year Contributor
Aug 11, 2008
Southern, California
I have a lot of experience with the 4G63 engine, but I've never worked on a 4G37 (1991 1.8L) before. A good friend asked me if I would replace his noisy lifters.

I have a PDF copy of the FSM, but it's not very clear on the procedure for replacing the lash adjusters/ lifters. Before I crack open the cylinder head cover, I'd like to know if there are some general do's and dont's, things to watch out for, tips and tricks, etc.

From what I can tell, I think the rocker arm assembly needs to come out as a whole before you can get to the lifters. Do I need to remove the timing belt in order to replace the lifters? Is there a way to replace each lifter without removing the rocker arm assembly? I have the valve compressor tool for the 4G63 motor. Would this be useful for the 4G37 to get the lifters out?

Thanks for the help.

Last edited:
4G37 Lifter replacement is a piece of cake to do. Did my daughter's car since she had 3 lifters that were bad.

Have the setup in TDC with no.1 cylinder so all the cam rockers are relaxed. This also relaxes the cam so it won't have the chance of popping up when you take off the rocker assembly since this also contains the bearing area, esp in front that holds the cam in position in the head.

Loosen all of the 10mm hold down bolts, that holds down the rocker assembly, starting in the middle and go clockwise in a circular motion, with the loosening.