The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Morrison Fabrications
Please Support STM Tuned

2G Questions about idle (difficult cold start), Euro 4G63 N/T

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joanGS

Probationary Member
Sep 6, 2020
Virginia
Hi guys,
first of all, I apologise for dumb questions and bad English, I’m a non-US based newbie. Aside from the Chilton manual, this forum has been my only source of info. I’ve tried my best searching, so please link me to threads if I’ve missed something. I have the Euro version of the 2G -98 Eclipse (manual, 4G63 N/T), and because it’s slightly different from the US ones it’s sometimes hard to figure things out. None of the mechanics where I live know anything about these cars, so I appreciate all help.

I bought the car on a whim, and the only thing wrong with it (that I know of) has been a bad idle. I’m not sure what the previous owner has done to it, but I’m pretty sure they had a different intake system installed to it while they were using it, and they changed it to something close to ”basic” when they sold it.