The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support JNZ Tuning
Please Support Morrison Fabrication

Nozzle placement?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

STARION

20+ Year Contributor
May 30, 2002
Nova, D.C.
Hey,
I'm just talking out of my @$$ here, but I'm wondering if, with a single nozzle wet kit, you could put the nozzle past the TB. Again, if I'm an idiot, tell my why with an explination, I'm new to nitrous (I'm trying to avoid a flame war). Now, back to what I'm asking. I just picked up a wet kit and was going to just put the nozzle before the TB (of course), but am considering the possibility of tapping the hole right in the center of the intake mani. If it's wired to a WOT switch, then I wouldn't image it would make a huge difference. However, I don't know if it would be worse for the whole process or not. The reason I assume it's not done is because the distribution would be worse (getting to #2 and #3, but not 1&4), but I thought I'd ask anyhow because if the possibility exists for improvement, then I might as well take advantage of it.

Only direct port kits can be drilled into the manifold, as their nozzles are designed for it. Placement of the nozzle must be 6 inches before the TB in order to achieve atomization and have the nitrous take effect. If it's to close, you'll just be injecting nitrous...waste of nitrous...I'm not sure what that'd cause, as the bottle claims that n2o isnt flammable, so maybe it'd combust, maybe not...not to sure on that one.

If you want it in the manifold, buy a direct port, otherwise, if you want your kit to work right, tap it 6 inches before the TB.