The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support ExtremePSI

New to DSM's and I'm kind of lost

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JCL84

10+ Year Contributor
Jun 13, 2012
McHenry, Illinois
Anyone in the Lake county area I can call on just in case I need advice or a helping hand? I am new to DSM's and I feel like I am getting in over my head with this GSX. I have a nice GSX from California that I am dropping a motor and trans into. Lots of performance parts came with the car that I am not sure how to install and I have a bunch of hardware I still need to order so I can piece this thing together. I live in McHenry but the car is stored at my friends in Waukegan. Im learning a lot but I don't want to make mistakes. Beer and pizza is on me if anyone is interested in giving a helping hand soon.

Last edited:
Im new to this too and im working on a build also but I think you should start with maintenance first. I started mine without really thinking it out but I should have started with that. Easiest things after that could be gauges, fuel pump, bov, spark plugs and wires, intake, etc. I would leave clutch, injectors, intercooler, manifold and all that for last.

I am definitely doing maintenance first. I will be installing a new Gates timing belt kit and water pump next week. I hate doing timing belts! I never done one on a 4G63 before, hopefully I don't mess it up.