The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Morrison Fabrications
Please Support ExtremePSI

New rims - camber kit?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mysterio2099

Probationary Member
Dec 8, 2005
Foley, Alabama
I've never bought new rims, but my cousin has some 18s that used to be on his Pont. GrandAm. He didn't have anything extra done to his car and never had a problem. I might buy them off him and put them on my 97 Eclipse N/T. I was wondering if camber kits or anything like that have to be put on? :confused: I haven't lowered my car or anything.. I'm a newbie at all this, so remember that when you reply. LOL.

Thanks. :dsm:

c5chris said:
No lowering involved, you dont need a camber kit. You just have to worry about the wheel offsets and lug pattern.

They might not be compatible.

Well.. say they fit fine... there's absolutely nothing else I would need? A friend of mine was telling me that if I went over the overall diameter of my stock rim/tire setup that I would need a camber kit? ...

Just trying to learn here. :thumb:

The only time you need a camber kit is when you lower you car, and usually when it's over 2". The only thing that would happen with a different rim diameter would be a change in your speedometer accuracy, and even that could be compensated with a different tire size. This link lets you see what tire size on a bigger rim you would need to match your stock tire diameter so you know how much if any your speedo would be off.

http://www.miata.net/garage/tirecalc.html