The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Morrison Fabrications
Please Support ExtremePSI

New from MN

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

F-127

Probationary Member
Mar 20, 2011
WestCentral, Minnesota
New DSM owner here. I recently purchased a 91 Eclipse GSX with about 142k, basically stock from my brother. I'm primarily a Ford diesel truck guy but the fuel prices have pushed me a bit to a little more fuel economy friendly, but yet fun to drive DSM as a commuter. My first work involved some Redline fluids for the Trans, T-case, and rear diff. I'm a college student and took the car to class this week.

Just the past few days the car has been having a progressively higher idle when warm, and a dropping max boost. Initially I had thought that I was having a vacuum/boost leak so I made up a boost leak tester today and gave it a whirl. The TB shaft seals are definitely out, that seemed to be the only leak I found. I capped off the emissions lines off of the TB at the same time. I can't imagine the TB shaft leak is enough to cause my high idle, since when cold it seems fine. I also started looking at other possibilities since I'd have to wait for seals to show up anyway. Of the list of possibilites, I thought coolant temperature sensor would be a likely culprit, but one additional bit of info from someone might help. Does anyone know if the computer limits max power output on a cold engine? It might explain my lower than normal boost as well. Either way, I'll probably pick up the sensor and give it a try tomorrow.

Side note: I do some of my own tuning for 7.3L diesels, I know fuel can be added only at certain engine temps if desired on that engine, so that's how I came up with that idea.