The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic
Please Support ExtremePSI

New build

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kris 97 Eclipse GSX

Probationary Member
Jan 4, 2020
Dubai, Asia
Hello all I'm new here and I'm also new to the whole DSM experience. I just purchased a 1997 Eclipse GSX with auto box. Car seems to be bone stock but runs like shit LOL. Spits oil from almost everywhere, massive blow by, fluctuating idle and feels slow... Decided not to run the car and started gathering parts for the complete engine rebuild. Decided not to rebuild it with OEM parts but with performance parts. The only problem is, not sure which turbo to go with

Here is the list of the parts I have so far which should help deciding on the right turbo for this engine build;

HKS 272 cams (intake/exhaust)

Kelford valve springs/retainers

ACL rod berings 4B1185H-STD

ACL main berings 5M1186H-STD

Super tech valve seals VS-M6.6I / VS-M6.6E

Manley H Beam con rods 14022-4

JE Pistons 86 mm 9:0 297052

Complete gasket/seal set head and block (Mitsubishi)

Water pump (Mitsubishi)

Oil pump (Mitsubishi)

ARP head bolts 207 4203

Those are the parts I currently have plus I'll get the FP exhaust manifold and custom 3" exhaust. ECU with be ECU Master Black.

Now what turbo I should go with? Reading about turbos just got me more confused since you never get a clear answer. One guy says one thing then someone else says the opposite. I'm looking to get 400WHP with minimal lag and I want the turbo to spool as early as possible and keep boost as long as possible.

Ofc the gearbox will be reinforced to take that power.

Hey and welcome to the forums!