The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support RTM Racing
Please Support ExtremePSI

Need help tuning.

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CBgst

20+ Year Contributor
Jun 25, 2002
LouisianaUS
My mods are big28, walbro255, filter w/adapter, uicp, 1st gen bov, afpr, 550s, s-afc, logger.

I just installed my injectors and the afc. I FINALLY got the car to run right. Now I need to tune it. Right now the afc is set at -20 for the high and low settings. I'm new to tuning so any help would great. Where do I start? Should I tune for exhaust gas temps or should I tune for timing. I'm at 15psi for now. What sort of exhaust gas temps should I tune for at wot( I think it's 1600 but I'm not sure). What timing should I see at wot. Thanks in advance.

Try and tune for as high of timing as you can get. Normally on my 01 octane crap i get between 12deg and 18deg timing. Once you get more than a few counts of knock, is when the ecu starts to pull timing I think its around 6 or 7 in my car. Usually it runs great at around 16-18deg timing. Watch the egt and make sure it doesnt go over 1650, but you should really tune for timing. o2's shouldnt go much under .84 in any car I think, even with the differences. Im sure someone will correect me but this is usually how I go about this.

My timing is around 8 degrees at wot. It doesn't get higher than that no matter what I set the afc at. At -20 my exhaust gas temps were really high. I had to set it at -7 all the way across so the exhaust gas temps wouldn't go past 1650. Any ideas on what the problem could be.