The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support RTM Racing
Please Support STM Tuned

My first DSM...a good start I think? Opinions welcome!

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

budgettsi

Probationary Member
Jul 13, 2009
Smiths Falls, Ontario_Canada
Just a thread to introduce myself and get some input from fellow DSM owners on the project I have just purchased. I am a licensed transmission tech, and the shop I work at has an engine/machine shop, a speed shop AND a chassis dyno. I do our EFI calibration and operate the dyno, but most of my experience has been with late model domestic vehicles so far. About a week and a half ago a friend of my father-in-law asked me to look at a car he bought for his daughter. As it turns out it was a 1991 Talon TSi AWD with an auto. He said it was "doggy" off the start, but went like crazy after that. I unplugged the battery to see if the problem would change with a ECU/TCU reset, but it didn't. I explained to him the TCU was likely bad. He wanted a second opinion, so he got it from a trans shop (not mine) and they said the same thing. He couldn't stomach the thought of taking the risk in case it wasn't the cause...so I told him I'd buy it. So after wiring the solenoids to test the trans...the trans is good! All 4 gears. I got a list of upgrades on the car, and I have verified them to be there. Best of all I guess is the Big 16G (yum!), 3" Thermal research exhaust, 17" American Eagle alloys and tire in perfect shape. When I picked it up, I discovered it was running 18psi....not safe in my opinion as it has stock injectors (390s) and stock SMIC. These will be the first to go I would think. In the mean time, 14-15psi OK? I will put the wideband in it next week