The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support STM Tuned

2G My 2g was smited and caught fire. Now idles poorly.

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fallen2g

Probationary Member
Mar 11, 2017
Bayamon, Puerto_Rico
Hey guys, newbie here. Longtime lurker. Hoping we could play some Dr. House on my 2g.
I have a 2g Eaglebishi Talipse Tsi gstx (more on this on a sec)

So, as per the title, yes, my car caught fire (in front of a church no less) but that isn't actually the problem as i fixed everything that was burnt.
Let me give you a little background so that hopefully we can do a differential diagnosis on what's actually going on with the frankentalonclipse.

My car originally was a 95 talon tsi awd std. The previous owner got in a accident which totaled the body but not the drivetrain. So he bought a 96 eclipse gst automatic chassis which he proceded to to convert to awd and swap the internals in so henceforth it became the tsi awd gst-x.

Here's the parts that came with the car (no such thing as stock dsm nowadays):
Evo 8 ecu
HKS knockoff bov (without the adjuster screw on top, had to block it off)
Ebay front mounter intercooler
Ebay turbo (don't know the size of it, prev owner told me it was chinese and a size bigger than stock)
Innovate motorsports digital wideband meter
Innovate Motorsports Wideband in the stock 02 location
rinky dink boostgauge
Aeromotive fuel pressure regulator
Injen intake, the recirculating type, k&n filter