The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support ExtremePSI

ignition lock cylinder

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

justchillin

Probationary Member
Jun 1, 2012
Baconton, Georgia
Hi guys, im pretty new to the DSM world but just bought a 97 eclipse rs and im fixing a few problems with it before it becomes a daily driver. But right now im having trouble with the key not turning so im assuming the lock cylinder has gone out. So my question is what is the proper procedure for removing it? IV got the column torn down all the way for easy access to it but not sure of how to remove the lock c
ylinder

You need to get the key to turn before you can remove it. Stick the key in and violently jiggle it around while trying to turn it. It should eventually come free. After you get it to turn there is a pin that holds it into the column. If you put the lock cylinder on the accessory spot the pin should push in and the cylinder will slide out.

Thank you that's exactly what I was looking for..i figured that pin pushed in at some point just wasn't sure the position...iv tried my best to get that key to turn but it won't do anything....btw my steering is locked in a 2 o'clock position could that be a reason y the key doesn't turn

I dont know if you have an automatic, but you might want to check the ignition interlock cable that prevents starting in gear. Maybe it came loose and is preventing turning of the cylinder. If not the case...

If there is no way you can get the key to turn then there are alternate ways to remove the lock cylinder, though they carry risk.