The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

  • Join the Community!

    DSMtuners is a massive archive of DSM information - but more importantly, it's a COMMUNITY! Join in and participate with other DSMers, and invite all of your DSM friends to make this place their home. Chat with others, create a build thread, post questions and answers. Get involved! Logging in will also remove many of the advertisements, along with this notice. ;) It will also allow you to view images in threads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support STM Tuned

2G idle high? grounded then went to adjust biss fuse blew. more issues?

ncarson91

Proven Member
119
10
Jan 2, 2021
north olmsted, Ohio
well this was a diff thread but now. question is i went to set idle ground in ecm link went to adjust biss. i ended up blowing a fuse? fuel pump wont prime anymore. floor lights wont turn on anymore. dash lights up gauges do. radio does. no crank nothing when key is turned forward. i got 2 engine codes. coolant temp sensor code. and crank sensor code? wth is going on
 
Last edited:

Tigerinstincts

Proven Member
198
20
Mar 1, 2015
Sacramento, California
Not enough information to answer this question. How are you reading your timing, and what rpm and load are you seeing 32° of timing.

32° of timing is completely normal under low load/mid-high rpms and under decel for reference.
 
Last edited:

motomattx

Proven Member
3,707
1,455
Dec 9, 2010
wampum, Pennsylvania
If the ecu is stock then that is normal, if its not then it depends on where in the map that timing is at as to whether its a problem or not.
 

Tigerinstincts

Proven Member
198
20
Mar 1, 2015
Sacramento, California
At least you're reading this through Ecmlink. Now we just need to know what conditions you're seeing 32° of timing. If it's under wot (aka high load) then you have a problem, however I highly doubt this is the case since your engine would most likely pop no matter how small your turbo is.

Stock timing table peaks somewhere around the mid to low teens under wot. Lower load (low boost/mid throttle) can potentially see upwards of +30° of timing if you carry the rpms high enough.
 

ncarson91

Proven Member
119
10
Jan 2, 2021
north olmsted, Ohio
At least you're reading this through Ecmlink. Now we just need to know what conditions you're seeing 32° of timing. If it's under wot (aka high load) then you have a problem, however I highly doubt this is the case since your engine would most likely pop no matter how small your turbo is.

Stock timing table peaks somewhere around the mid to low teens under wot. Lower load (low boost/mid throttle) can potentially see upwards of +30° of timing if you carry the rpms high enough.

okay sad to say i was trying to adjust idle a little was running a bit high. so since i have the fiav block off they say ground then adjust biss to set idle. i did such. somehow blew a fuse. got a crank sensor code. a coolant sensor code. the interior floor lights wont light up now and when i click key forward there is no prime to my fuel pump. O.O

i checked all fuses i changed the one that blew. still having issues im gonna try the fuel pump relay? hopefully it works
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Tigerinstincts

Proven Member
198
20
Mar 1, 2015
Sacramento, California
I am pretty sure you set base timing that way only with 1g DSMs. Its been awhile since I idle tuned my 2g, but I never had to use that method of holding base timing at 5*. However, i kept my FIAV and my idle timing only bounced between 5-7* for the most part, so I could be wrong. You may want to confirm what you're doing is correct (although maybe you have the same style of cam sensor as the 1g), or maybe someone else can chime in.
 

ncarson91

Proven Member
119
10
Jan 2, 2021
north olmsted, Ohio
I am pretty sure you set base timing that way only with 1g DSMs. Its been awhile since I idle tuned my 2g, but I never had to use that method of holding base timing at 5*. However, i kept my FIAV and my idle timing only bounced between 5-7* for the most part, so I could be wrong. You may want to confirm what you're doing is correct (although maybe you have the same style of cam sensor as the 1g), or maybe someone else can chime in.

Nope 2g cam and crank all 2g fiav block off like I said I’m a newbie I know timing was 100% spot on had 3 people look it over balance shafts deleted so made it easier to time

Thought I had pic of top but I don’t but the pins on the cams were facing up line straight across horizontally matched up crank looked like that after turning bolt for tension on the tensioner pulley.

You must be logged in to view this image or video.


Unless if you think that’s off I can adjust. N yeah my tb has no sensors besides the position sensor

I just don’t know if mpi relay blew? Or possibly ignition bc I grounded when I guess I never needed to. Or if it fried my ecu and I need repairs
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Tigerinstincts

Proven Member
198
20
Mar 1, 2015
Sacramento, California
Thought I had pic of top but I don’t but the pins on the cams were facing up line straight across horizontally matched up crank looked like that after turning bolt for tension on the tensioner pulley.

To me, this looks a tooth off, however it could be the angle you took the pic at. I know its tough to get a clear pic between the frame and timing components. Still, I would want to see how the cams line up as well as the oil pump/balance shaft marks...

I would make another thread regarding you possibly blowing fuses while grounding whatever you grounded.
 

ncarson91

Proven Member
119
10
Jan 2, 2021
north olmsted, Ohio
To me, this looks a tooth off, however it could be the angle you took the pic at. I know its tough to get a clear pic between the frame and timing components. Still, I would want to see how the cams line up as well as the oil pump/balance shaft marks...

I would make another thread regarding you possibly blowing fuses while grounding whatever you grounded.

If you have time bud add me on fb? Or I’ll try and be as responsive as I can I’m heading to my shop now it’s a half hour drive. I’ll hand turn it until it all lines up n show you. I’ll do my best to take clear pics

Might have to wait tho bc I might have to borrow my buddies impact to get harmonic balancer off

Also side note doesn’t oil pump not matter if marks line up essentially because I deleted balance shafts? And installed the bearings
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Tigerinstincts

Proven Member
198
20
Mar 1, 2015
Sacramento, California
I don't have FB anymore. Personally I would tackle your electrical problem first before moving on with this thread. If you have time to spare then go ahead, and line up your timing marks and snap some pics.\

Yes, if you deleted your balance shafts, then you can ignore those timing marks. All you will need are the crank and cam timing marks.
 

ncarson91

Proven Member
119
10
Jan 2, 2021
north olmsted, Ohio
Yes, if you deleted your balance shafts, then you can ignore those timing marks. All you will need are the crank and cam timing marks.

Okay that’s what I figured and yeah I’m heading there now I have a spare mpi relay seeing if that does the trick. Also have a spare starter relay so fingers crossed but since I’m pulling off side panels for mfi relay I’m doing same on driver to check ecu make sure it’s not toast 😭 fingers crossed it’s not if so I gotta send out for repairs

Hey bud. Okay so I’m a tard and forgot to plug in the one plug off the positive battery cable. Noob move real slick on my end. But now under hood bc I was test lighting fuses just to see which and what had power, the radio and room lamp have none, fuses look fine. And everything in the top right “fuse fusible” has nothing

Update fuse fusible on fuses under hood doesn’t get power everything else does. Only one that does on it is the ac clim.

Turns out I had my crank plugged into wrong plug since I redid stuff to it oops. And had coolant temp plug not plugged in. Mihoy minoy stressful.

Well it’s done now. Now to trace back and see WTF is causing this
 
Last edited by a moderator:

motomattx

Proven Member
3,707
1,455
Dec 9, 2010
wampum, Pennsylvania
uhhhh shoot idek OMG
They are right next to each other on those years in the wiring harness, one is obvious the other you have to dig for, they are two different colors, one is a brown terminal the other I think is black but dont quote me on it because its been a while since I have had to use them.
 

ncarson91

Proven Member
119
10
Jan 2, 2021
north olmsted, Ohio
They are right next to each other on those years in the wiring harness, one is obvious the other you have to dig for, they are two different colors, one is a brown terminal the other I think is black but dont quote me on it because its been a while since I have had to use them.
pretty sure couldnt be issue just bc its run a million times since last year but ill look into it
They are right next to each other on those years in the wiring harness, one is obvious the other you have to dig for, they are two different colors, one is a brown terminal the other I think is black but dont quote me on it because its been a while since I have had to use them.
ill get back to ya on that tonight when im off work
 

ncarson91

Proven Member
119
10
Jan 2, 2021
north olmsted, Ohio
For future reference if anyone ever has a similar issue. When i grounded with 1 ground from a gauge i wired in through cig lighter not grounded properly. When i grounded ecu diag to set idle it killed my power transistor and 2 fuses which cause my car to act totally dead.

Side note re-did every ground i had. Checked every fuse and relay. Replaced as needed.

Car fires up! obviously with new transistor.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Support Vendors who Support the DSM Community
Boosted Fabrication ECM Tuning ExtremePSI Fuel Injector Clinic Jacks Transmissions JNZ Tuning Kiggly Racing Morrison Fabrications MyMitsubishiStore.com RixRacing RockAuto RTM Racing STM Tuned VR Speed Factory

Latest posts

Build Thread Updates

Latest Classifieds

Top