The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support Morrison Fabrication

General Help with Tuning (DSMChip, SAFC, MAFT) *NEWBIE*

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DSM_ThuNDeR

15+ Year Contributor
Feb 28, 2008
Salinas, California
Hello guys,
I'm new to tuning and would like to get as much help from start to finish if possible:pray:. I have the maft 1.3v set up with the GM maf as "BLOW THRU". Here are the mods I have :

SIX BOLT SWAP (2G)
DSM Keydiver Chip set for FIC 750cc's (set for 2G maf, but now running maft)
750cc's
Maf-t (1.3V)
S-AFC
Aeromotive FPR (set at 43.5 PSI)
HX-35
9_1 Compression
AEM wideband tapped 02 sensor 24" after downpipe
EvoScan (for logging)

I've ran the car a good amount of couple of miles already after full rebuild with very LIGHT throttle %. Things start to act funny when I start to build boost and ON.

Here are some of my symtoms:
-My wideband is never steady while cruising, and idle as well. I would like to start by saying that all of my knobs are set to ZERO on the MAF-T, and also all my correction levels at zero on the AFC. Let me just say I did a MID throttle pull (building 1-7 PSI) and eventually the car would sputter. I know for most of the time, from what I've read the maf-t is for tial and error... but i def dont want to mess up the fresh build. ALSO, on cold starts the car idle starts sky high (about 2,700- 3K) and will eventually surge... once i hold the pedal for a couple mins in it will eventually idle normal and no surge:confused:

. Let me know:
1. Where my knobs should be at on the MAF-T?
2. If the afc should still be selected as "KARMAN"?
3. Is it true I want my wideband to read 14.7 for most of the time?