The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support STM Tuned

Help with Transmission Rebuild

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wimploki

15+ Year Contributor
Mar 25, 2005
SoCal, California
I've recently acquired a used transmission that's in need of a rebuild. I thought of doing it myself to save money and learn something new. The problem is I have never done this before and worried about the whole process.

If your willing to give a helping hand and located near downtown LA, please chime in.

Thanks

Buy a gear splitter set, grinder for sharpening the gear splitter knives, harbor freight hydraulic press, gear puller, seal puller, drift punch set, deadblow hammer, etc. etc. You'll also need if I recall a good set of external snap ring pliers. Long sockets helped to press bearings back onto the gear stack.

Also you'll want a big un-cluttered table to lay everything out. I bought (2) folding tables from Pepboys, covered them in clean cardboard for this purpose and duct taped that to the table. If I recall correctly the taper bearing on the input shaft refused to come off, cutting the cage apart "very" carefully with a dremel is the easiest solution, everything else comes off with some effort.

You most definitely want a copy of the service manual for setting gear stack bearing preload. You'll likely spend as much as a rebuild done by a professional and the novelty wears off real fast. If you need to cobble a transmission together it might be worth it, otherwise its really not.