The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Kiggly Racing
Please Support Rix Racing

Help With System Install

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LaserChick2003

Probationary Member
Mar 11, 2003
PennsylvaniaUS
Hey guys. I just have a quick question for someone. I'm a beginner and I'm attempting to install my system myself. Everything is going okay except I'm to the point where I'm running my wire from the battery to the amp and I need a little help. Yeah, I know I know, ALWAYS run from the battery. I got that part but my question is, where do I run that wire to? From the battery to the interior of the car, yes, but where do I feed the wire/drill holes to put the wire through to the inside? Any help would be GREATLY appreciated! Thanks guys!

Well, most of the time, there is a rubber grommet (little rubber stopper thing with holes in it) pre-exisiting in the firewall already, many a time with some wires already coming through it. Get down and look underneath your dash, on both sides, and look up high underneath your dash and feel around, there's a good chance that there already is a rubber grommet there, and youll have to stick the power cord through that, it may take some elbow grease, but from experience, i feel that is the hardest part of installing a system, especially if you dont have a lot of room in the engine bay.

I can't speak specifically for dsm's though, cuz I dont have one yet!

Also, try to keep the ground cable under 3 feet, and make sure you ground it to a bolt that is connecting with the entire car, and sand the surface if need be to expose bare metal.

By the way, where from PA are you from, I live in Erie, and I plan on buying a 1g dsm by august.