The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support ExtremePSI

1G Headers?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lxlaw

20+ Year Contributor
Jan 11, 2003
Sandia, Texas
I am new to the DSM world, i am a Mustang dude, but really enjoy the DSM. I have a 93 AWD Talon and am kind of curious, why dont you guys used headers instead of Ported 2g exhaust manifolds?? I know that headers are more efficient and usually produce more power, so there has to be a reason why no one is using the headers. I have seen them and they seem just as cheap as some of these people that sell the ported 2G's. Kind of curious.

Most people use SFP(South Florida Performance) Tubular race headers or manifolds.

They are very expensive compared to the 2g manifolds. The HP gains are minimal for street driven cars. Most are prone to cracking. Most are only used in dedicated track cars where every amount of power is needed. Basicsally, they're not worth it.

PS- I'm a mustang guy too :thumb: