The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic

Gallant 99 Idle Issue when AC is on

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mkymnzns

Probationary Member
Aug 15, 2016
Los Angeles, California
Hi! I'm fairly new to joining this forum but I've read a lot of discussions already for my idling problem but still haven't been able to figure it out..

My Gallant 99 has been idling roughly since I got it 2 years ago. Actually, when I got this car it was quite a fixer-up state and I have worked on the problems since here's the run down of things I've changed and the problems why I changed them. All changes done in about 2 months prior to today.

AC was not cooling as what it was supposed to but is now solved
  • changed to new compressor
  • change dryer filter
  • change expansion valve
  • change timing belts
Hard starting after driving for a while
  • change starter carbons
  • change solenoid
  • fixed wirings on the battery (turns out this was the problem wiring was not properly set in so the battery wasn't charging properly causing it to discharge every drive)
Always running out of coolant
  • Change radiator
  • Change bypass tube and water inlet (turns out they were rusted and the pipes had holes)
Always running out of steering wheel fluid
  • change sensor (there was a crack)
  • replaced the silicon and O-ring (turns out there was a leak due to the O-ring being cooked already)
Rough Idling when AC is on, goes down to 700rpm intermittently
  • Cleaned throttle body
  • Change Idle Control Valve (ICV)
  • ?